Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
During a challenge, the two characters are to be placed in base-to-base contact, but whose character should be the one that move to contact the opponent's character?
The character that accepted the challenge is moved to meet his opponent, or if that's not possible for some reason, the challenger is moved instead. See page 77 of the rulebook, the section titled 'Fighting a Challenge'.
That being said, some players dont bother to move the combatants at all, while others actually take the models out of the units altogether and place them next to the main combat while they fight their challenge. Although they haven't actually 'left' their units, it's just used as a visual reminder that the two characters are fighting a duel.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
What if a character is equipped with some sort of wargear that affects all models in base contact, now that the characters are moved into base contact with each other, does it still affect its surrounding models?
This is what I think: No, any such effects would only influence the opponent involved in the duel.
Now is when other people come along and prove me wrong. :tongue:
I do wonder about items that have a radius effect, like the cursed book.
im pretty sure you still get the effects that effect people in base to base, because you are still in base to base contact just that they cant target each other, but to use them, you would have to make sure you move the models in the combat so that you know who you are in base to base with.
lets agree to respect each others views, no matter how wrong yours are
Let the false gods burn!
I believe FGutierrez777 has got it right. I can't back it up with rules references though, but I remember seeing a few magic items that specifically said that in a challenge only the other model in the challenge could be affected. That's also the case with the Lahmians vampires' bloodline powers like seduction and domination.
Of course it could be that these instances are just exceptions from the rules, so hopefully someone knows a rule to back it up. Anyone?
Arena of Death Champion: Nexim of the Guldskullz Tribe. Fear my wrath!
As far I as read the rules, you just move the models into BTB and fight the challenge. If your character is say equiped with the talon of death which auto hits all models in BTB, I don't see how that would be effected by the challenge. Every model that is still in BTB after the character moves would still take the hit.
On a further note, can chacters who are in fighting ranks of a multiple combat, but not in fighting ranks with eachother still fight a challenge?
Just to be clear here... I had a unit of Grave gaurd charged by a unit of saurus with an old blood, and a stagadon. I then flank charged the stegadon with a unit of skellies with my general. Both my vampire and the old blood are in fighting ranks, but neither of their units are touching at any point. Can those two characters fight a challenge?