Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It came up in a game yesterday where there was a unit of Wild Riders of Kurnous (I know I spelled that wrong) involved in combat with a block of clanrat warriors. After combat res was worked out, the warriors ended up breaking.
The pursuit roll of the wild riders hit a lone character who proceeded to fail his fear test and also high-tailed it out of there. He made it away, and the WR's kept going their full pursuit - right into another block of warriors.
The question is, what kind of charge is this? Their straight line pursuit made contact with the flank of the warriors, but their starting position if they had declared a normal charge would have been a front charge (ie, more models started in the front arc than flank, but their movement direction took them towards the flank).
The only thing we could find was that the Pursuit into Fresh Enemy states that it counts as a normal charge except that the fresh enemy cannot stand & shoot and the chargers get to skip their fear / terror tests.
Any clarification from rules we may have missed will be much appreciated!
I think you played it correctly. Have you seen the FAQ on the new rulebook? It clarifies some oddball situations, but this one, I think, is covered in the main rule book. You wouldn't determine where to engage the unit from your initial point of charging, but from the overrun and pursuit.
And check out that FAQ if you haven't already as it may address this more clearly.
Actually you played it wrong, the character wouldn't have to take a fear test, you only take fear test when charging in the move phase, when a unit over runs, the unit it hits has little or no time to react, so they hold, and don't have to take fear test since they are to busy trying to get ready for the combat ahead.