Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up in a game for me a little while ago. I charged a giant into a ranked unit of dwarven rangers. Now since giants are large targets and thus can be seen over normal sized models, does the ranked unit of rangers get to shoot with more then 1 rank?
Nope. Generally speaking the only time you ever get to shoot in more than one rank against anything is when you are on a hill shooting something lower down. This applies regardless.This came up in a game for me a little while ago. I charged a giant into a ranked unit of dwarven rangers. Now since giants are large targets and thus can be seen over normal sized models, does the ranked unit of rangers get to shoot with more then 1 rank?
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
I'm kinda studying at the moment but I'll get you a page ref when I can.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
The heading 'Interposing Models' on page 9 of the rulebook states that large targets can be seen and shot at by by enemy models over other models who are in the way, and that this also applies to models in the back ranks of missile weapon units.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
That's what I thought. However I interpreted it as if the troops were shooting at a target on a hill, which gives them one extra rank of fireing, in this case 10 shots, rather then the whole unit getting a shot. However that was what we came to during the game, and I welcome the worthy oppinions of you good folk.
I'm pretty sure you can only shoot in 2 ranks at a large target. But I will have to go check the rulebook now. You guys have sown the seed of doubt.
I shall remove all doubt from your mind then.
Rulebook, page 9, second paragraph under INTERPOSING MODELS: "for example, a Dragon (large target) can be seen and shot at by ... models in the back ranks of a unit of troops armed with missile weapons."
In xrix1's situation, the entire unit of Rangers can shoot at the charging Giant.
Thanks for clearing that up.
I have been playing incorrectly for a while.
Then on page 26 under Missile fire from hills, "Troops on a hill are considered to be in a good position to fire, so can fire with one additional rank compared to missile-armed troops on flat ground"
That seems to indicate to me that shooting at a large target would follow the same rules as shooting from a hill, and thus get two ranks.
Hills have nothing to do with this situation. There are no hills in your described scenario, so the sections on Hills & Elevated Positions (p9) and Missile Fire From Hills (p26) are irrelevant. The section you need to consult is Interposing Models, which completely describes how to resolve line of sight issues with Large Targets, without reference to any kind of hills at all.
The full line I quoted (admittedly I missed a bit out intentionally, but that bit does not change it's meaning) clearly states that all the models in a unit can shoot at Large Targets, even - and specifically including - those in the back ranks.
I'd agree that the rules for these situations are hard to find, and a handy table explaining who can shoot at what would be helpful. So without further ado, here it is.+edit+ is it just me or does the code box mess up the page margins?Code:Firing Direction How many ranks can shoot at the target? ------------------------------------------------------------------------ Ground -> Ground Front rank Hill -> Hill Front rank Hill -> Ground Two ranks Ground -> Hill All ranks Ground -> Large Target All ranks Hill -> Large Target Not sure - answers please!