Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
(This is for my friend's benefit/learning)
I decide to play as dwarves since my army is in the paint room ATM and the gaming area at our club has enough dwarves to field a 1250 point army. My opponent, also my good friend, is a WE player.
My friend and I roll to place terrain and he wins the roll. Being a WE he grabs his forests all googly eyed and I grab a hill. I say 'no mas' after the first piece I placed, which was a hill. Just to have a reference, I picked up the rulebook to start reading about Hills/Elevated terrain vs. woods.
I skimmed to the rules for Hills/elevated positions vs. woods and drawing a line of sight. What I read ( page 9) basically stated what I already knew when talking about hills/woods/builds/other terrain, that I can see what I can draw a line of sight to from the models eye view.
My opponent stated "I could not see over the woods and that I could not see into them more than 2". I said, "I agree with the 2 inches, but I can see over." He did not agree with me.
Was I wrong?
This is always a tricky one, basically you need to discuss it before hand and if no mutual resolution can be made then roll of.
By the book it does say that you can draw LOS from the models eye view. I agree with your line, you can see over it (from the models eye view) but the 2" in restriction still holds.
I find a lot of people argue over this one.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
It depends how high your hill and how tall your trees are.
Remember that you have to use your imagination a bit concerning woods - they are counted as a prism - the area of the base of the woods at a height of the highest tree. You can see 2" into this.
You need to get down over the table and have a look at your models' eye view. If, from your hill, you can see over the tallest tree, then you have LoS over it. If you can't see over the tallest tree, then you don't. It's as simple as that. Of course, if the woods are less than 2" thick then you can see through them.