Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Squig Hoppers can move in a direction chosen from their owner, with their random movement. Does this allow them to charge a flank even if common units would be forced to front-charge ?
A standard unit of skirmishers would be forced to declare a charge on the front, but Hoppers' rules state that they can move in any direction. Is it legal to declare:"My Hoppers are moving in direction of your flank...roll for their movement...I'm in contact with your flank,gg" ?
As far as I am aware, it does allow a flank charge (I know of no rule which would prevent this). However, as hoppers are skirmishers, it does not provide flanking bonuses to CR, nor take away ranks. However, it DOES prevent you from using the parry rule, or spears/pikes to full advantage against hoppers.
If someone has contrary information, I'd be glad to be proved wrong.
I know skirmisher don't take away ranks from a flank\back charge, but I really thought they used to gain the +1\+2 to CR x__x
On the skirmishers' rules on the rulebook I can read that they don't take away ranks, and they don't get a bonus even if during the combat they form several ranks, but I can't find where it states they don't get flank\back charge bonuses.
Skirmishers still do get the +1/+2 CR bonus for attacking a flank/rear respectively. They don't get a rank bonus nor do they nullify the rank bonus of an enemy unit, obviously.
On the subject of the Squig Hoppers' dodgy flank charge, I don't know for certain. Do they actually perform a formal charge against their target or is it some sort of 'other' move? If they do perform a normal charge, then I still don't think they should be allowed to ignore the normal charging rules even if they can move in any direction. After all, the controller of a normal skimishing unit is allowed to move them in any direction he chooses...
If they have some sort of strange move to get them into combat that isn't a normally declared charge, they maybe, but it's one for the developers really.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Their movement is resolved during the Obligatory Movements phase.
a) Choose any direction
b) Roll 3 dices
c) Move them in the selected direction by the amount of inches rolled on the dices
d) If they touch an enemy unit it's considered a charge (opponent may stand&shoot, flee etc)
I wonder if it's legal to state that each hopper is moving in direction of the flank of the unit in the picture, after all that direction exists, and moving in the right direction will force most Hoppers to be in touch with the other unit's flank.
Since you declare direction first, that should take care of any question right? I mean, you do get to choose the direction of the hoppers so they are manouverable, but unpredictible.
It does seem a little nasty but... maybe all the hoppers should be moved in towards the flank, not just the ones that contact, and than decide the location of the charge based on the arc?
g3n3s1s and Tzeentch Lord: Thanks for catching my blunder on the skirmishers and flank bonuses, that's something I've been getting wrong for a while I think.
I'm still of the opinion that hoppers can legally flank without being in the flank arc with the rules as stated. Unless there is a more definitive answer or a GW FAQ on the subject, I'm gonna take that as gospel for my games. If the rules are as stated by g3n3s1s, I don't think it matters how many touch the enemy, just the first guy in line.
Hopper movement can be a real quandry. In this example I think sportsmanship should win. In the example given you can charge the flank (and maybe cause panic) but if it were any other unit it would be a front charge. Using the unusual nature of the hoppers to circumvent another rule is getting a little cheeky. If most of the unit is in the flank arc then go for. If not- do the good thing (as I'm sure you would) and take the front charge.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
After rereading the army book entry, there's a strong argument to say that you can charge the flank. They do move in the compulsory part of the phase and don't actually declare charges. Only if they come in range is a charge declared.
That said, the sportsmanship of the maneuver is questionable, especially if you're really close to the enemy unit, just a few inches or so.