Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay noticed this yesterday and it's been bugging me...
Can get a Halberd
Halberd rules in the weapons section of the core rulebook states 2 handed, +1 str, they are NOT denoted as infantry or mounted only and as such apply to all
Captain can also get a Horse
Without looking at anything else, Captian on horse could take Halberd, get +1 str, for the same cost as getting a greatweapon, WITHOUT the strike last penelty.
I'm pretty sure this isn't doable. Something, somewhere says Halbred + Horse = a No go
However danged if I can find it. Nothing in the unit entry precludes it. Nothing I can find precludes it in the core rules.
So am I incorrect, and is that a better way to go (in cheap games when not using magic weapons), or am I correct and in that some page number, somewhere disallows it? And if so, where and what #? I looked over the character section and the weapon section and nothing so far I see (though it's a big book, I could just be missing it).
Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed an exact spot as an answer for or against this.
Making Sisters of Battle into Women of Battle
Give a Rep Star if you like what someone said. Especially Me. I'm an unabashed Star whore. Blame my 2nd grade teacher and those stupid good behavior stickers. I'm just conditioned. I'm the Pavlov's Dog of stars.
You win with VP, NOT with kills
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
I would have to argue that a mounted character cannot take a halberd for 2 reasons:
1. In the rule book on page 56 it specifically mentions which weapons can be used when mounted - spear, lance and great weapon [+ hand weapon of course].
2. Common sense - a halberd is a foot weapon and using it on a horse is just silly and wouldn't work [although i think a two handed weapon on a horse is a bit silly also - one miss and you would kill your mount but that is a different topic]. This is [sort of] stated on pg3 of the rules where it says that if you are not sure what to do discuss it and do what makes sense.
however, in army builder, you can give a person a halberd and put him on a horse without any restricions. any because army builder is built for army building in fantasy and 40k, i highly doubt that they would make this error
I would say that a halberd is more useful from horseback than a great weapon, if only because of the weight difference. Because it is such a long weapon, with the dangerous portion only at one end, you can swing it like a large axe in front of the horse's head, without risking the horse's legs, and it can be used as a spear on the charge.
But I'm no weapons expert, so I might not be right.
Mysterious Member of the ANZAC Clan
Have you seen these crazy long chinese and japanese spears, quite like a halbred in shape, and some even longer. They were meant for swinging as well as thrusting....
I think you should be careful in quoting Army Builder as an authority on what can be done and what can't as there are errors and mistakes in the army files.
If you are going to use a halberd as a thrusting weapon then that is the same as a spear. A halberd has a very heavy head and are quite long [have seen and picked one up] and you would have to be built like Arnie to swing it from horseback without being a huge danger to your own horse, own army and yourself.
Since flails can also be used when mounted (it's an official option for marauder horsemen) and the rules don't distinguish there between mounted and infantry either, then the halberd (as not being explicitly forbidden) is legal when mounted.
I guess GW might have wanted to mitigate things a bit with it (like bretonnian lances get full rank bonus for measly 3 models and those extra attacks but hey, my empire captain/(dark)elf noble still whacks then with strength 5 at initiative order)
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
It only has speciel entries because the rules are different for those weapons, depending on whether you're on foot or mounted. Hand weapons and morning stars can be used by mounted models, but there's no specific entry for them with regards to mounted models is there?Originally Posted by Gorrporrin
However, check out lances. There it says 'Mounted Only', so clearly you can only use a lance if you're mounted. None of the weapons say 'infantry only' though.Indeed, using a great weapon while on a horse does seem a bit odd, but great weapons are allowed, I don't see why halberds wouldn't be (as they are both pretty much the same thing).Originally Posted by Gorrporrin
"Peace, through superior firepower."