turn and shoot - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: turn and shoot

  1. #1
    Member Skavenblight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    24
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -8 (x0)

    turn and shoot

    can an unit turn to its flank in the movement phase, so it can see them in the shooting phase and still shoot. So it first cant see them but after movement can, can it shoot?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    As long as the weapon does not have a "move or fire" restriction, yes.

  4. #3
    Member Skavenblight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    24
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -8 (x0)

    ok thanks very much

  5. #4
    Senior Member DotR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    33
    Posts
    470
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Just for clarification if your unit was like this


    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Enemy

    a turn would not allow you to do this


    X
    X
    X
    X
    X Enemy
    X
    X
    X
    X

    If you were to turn only the end model would be able to fire at the enemy.

    Moob (below) has the correct solution.
    Last edited by DotR; May 18th, 2007 at 04:57.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    No, you wouldn't completely face that other direction like that, but what you could do is turn and then redress the ranks. So then you'd have up to 6 guys who could shoot instead of just one.

    A neat little trick when you have a line of models like that is to turn AWAY from the enemy you wish to shoot (if it is close to you), then redress the ranks to add models to the front, and then turn again to do an about face. You now have up to 6 models who can shoot (more if you're on a hill) and are further away from the enemy - hopefully in stand and shoot range if you get charged.

  7. #6
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    moob is right. Turn and then redress the ranks. If you have enough models, you'll achieve a frontage of 6, allowing yourself to shoot that turn, and perhaps obtaining a stand and shoot reaction as well.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  8. #7
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    blight, it's good to have a Skaven player onboard, but you sure as hell confused me with your post. State your questions a little more clearly and use diagrams like DotR did. :yes:
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  9. #8
    Senior Member willadams33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    But doesn't redressing the ranks take up your entire movement and count as marching so you wouldn't be able to shoot that turn anyway?

  10. #9
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by willadams33 View Post
    But doesn't redressing the ranks take up your entire movement and count as marching so you wouldn't be able to shoot that turn anyway?
    No, you're thinking of reforming. Check the rulebook. It's legit.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  11. #10
    Member Skavenblight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    24
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -8 (x0)

    i mean:

    movement phase:




    XXXXXXXX (enemy)



    then move like:

    X
    X
    X
    X (enemy)
    X
    X
    X
    X


    Shooting phase:
    shoot with 8 models at -1 for moving and maybe -1 for long range


    so can you turn in the movement phase to an enemy in your flank so you can then see the unit and shoot at it in the shooting phase?
    because i dont really understand your replies of redressing ranks
    Last edited by Skavenblight; May 19th, 2007 at 21:13.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts