What Would Happen If... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    a bolt thrower were to hit a unit on a diagonal?
    i know the rules for the bolt thrower know but im not sure on how this would work



    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Slai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x2)

    It counts as entering the side its aligned to hit. Like chargers, it will either go in the front, the back. the left, or the right.

  4. #3
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    This was covered in one of the annuals, basically if it hits in the front then it will got through however many ranks they have back. And if it hits in the flank it goes through however many ranks across, I hope you understand this.

    But it&#39;s in Annual 2002 Page 20

  5. #4
    Sorcerer Spike_alike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    England, Northamptonshire
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x4)

    If your bolt thrower hits the side of a unit they are hit like this:

    #####
    #####
    #####
    #####

    Rather than a frontal hit like this:

    #####
    #####
    #####
    #####


    so you can see that this is very handy vs knights as it does this:
    #####

    Instead of: #####
    A Promise to a dead man means nothing.

  6. #5
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    yeah but what happens if its like this

    * * * *
    * * * *
    * * * *
    * * * *


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  7. #6
    Sorcerer Spike_alike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    England, Northamptonshire
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x4)

    Im not sure but i guess you could do it like that
    A Promise to a dead man means nothing.

  8. #7
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    but the prob is that if this happens on a unit where i cant get a drirect veiw of the diagonal what happens

    * * * * **
    * * * * * *
    * * * * * *

    see what i meen? its just a funny angle thing


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  9. #8
    Sorcerer Spike_alike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    England, Northamptonshire
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x4)

    You meant like this:

    #####
    #####
    #####
    #####

    if so just treat that as a frontal hit
    A Promise to a dead man means nothing.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Slai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x2)

    Arklite:

    Its NEVER counted diagonally. Its either from the front, the back, or either side, depending on which side the RBT is. Its like charging. You alight the bolt like you would align in combat. Draw a line from each corner of the target unit and out 45 degrees (like LOS and when judging charges) . Then just see where the RBT is, and if its in the front, you hit from front to back, even if the RBT is slightly to the side.

  11. #10
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Well in the annual it shows that each side of the formation is split up, so:


    &#092;-------/
    ******
    ******
    ******
    ******
    /------- &#092;


    If it hits any model in side any of these angles it shows which way it will enter, so eg if it hit the red one it would count as going acroos the formation from the flank and so will hit 6 models in that row. But if it hit blue one at an angle then it would go straight down the formation and would hit 4 models.

    If it hits at an exact corner I would say roll for which hit goes through (ie 1-3 Flank, 4-6 front)

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts