Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I saw this on the warhammer forum faq...
Q: How is a wizard affected my close combat when it comes to casting spells?
A: A wizard can cast spells when he is fighting in close combat. The only exception is magic missiles, which a wizard can't cast when he is in close combat. Obviously, the enemy unit(s) will block LoS as normal, which may prevent many spells from being cast. Large target casters will be able to avoid this problem.
A wizard can not cast spells at a unit in close combat, unless specifically stated in the spells description.
WTF? is this true?
Wood Elves Record (since i started counting)
Below 1000pts: 1-0-0
1000 - 1999pts: 5-2-2
Above 2000pts: 7-1-0
Yes. A wizard can cast a spell while in combat as long as it doesnt require line of sight. Pretty crazy, huh?
A Wizard cannot cast spells at a unit in close combat, just like shooting. Any spells he can cast on units in close combat say sop in their descriptrion. Buff spells (bear's anger etc) can be cast on models engaged in CC. (p107, Skull pass)
Magic Missiles cannot be cast by a Wizard in a unit that is engaged in CC, even if the Wizard is not fighting. again this works in the same way as missile weapons. (p110, Skull pass)
-- Moved to Rules Help --