Vaul's Unmaking vs Anvil of Doom - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Vaul's Unmaking vs Anvil of Doom

    Well, I wanted to use this spell to bust the Anvil of Doom, but locals are telling me it's not possible without actually showing me anything saying so. Am I being taken for a ride or are they correct?



    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I suck... Maiden neck... cebwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark (DK)
    Age
    27
    Posts
    836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    How would you use it on the Anvil itself? It says nothing in the spell or in the Anvil rules that it is compatable...
    -lurking in the shadows of LO.

    Officially diagnosed by Tekore
    Melkhior, Necrarch Lord

  4. #3
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    It's a magic item in a unit, Vaul's Unmaking says target a unit, pick a magic item and then bust it. It also specifically mentions it can bust runes.

    But I'm just being told I can't. Why? "You just can't."


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  5. #4
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    the anvil of doom is not a magic item, its a warmachine.

    the anvil is a warmachine which cannot be moved or attacked at all, by any means (no more than you can move or attack a hill)
    page 30 of the dwarf army book.

    in many respects the anvil of doom isn't even magic or a warmachine in rules terms. its a terrain piece that can make magical attacks and is controled by the dwarf player.

    hope that clears it up.

    note however that any equipment that the runelord is carrying (runic weapon/armour) is still free game.
    Last edited by Arklite; May 19th, 2007 at 10:25.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  6. #5
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    You can target warmachines though, can't you? As they're part of a unit. Say if the Dwarf Cannon had a Rune of Reloading, I could target the unit and then bust the Rune couldn't I?

    If so, why can't I select the Anvil and bust its Runes?


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  7. #6
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    You can target warmachines though, can't you? As they're part of a unit. Say if the Dwarf Cannon had a Rune of Reloading, I could target the unit and then bust the Rune.

    If so, why can't I select the Anvil and drain its Runes?

    because the anvil can't be "attacked at all, by any means"

    you just can't attack it. it can't actually be targeted on the battle field. vauls unmaking attacks the magic runes. but you can't attack the anvil. it doesn't have runes in any rules sence.
    Last edited by Arklite; May 19th, 2007 at 10:43.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  8. #7
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Oh, I wasn't aware that Vaul's Unmaking was classed as an attack. I thought that was reffering to things that actually did damage (as in you couldn't break the anvil in the way you can break a Cannon).


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  9. #8
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    Oh, I wasn't aware that Vaul's Unmaking was classed as an attack. I thought that was reffering to things that actually did damage (as in you couldn't break the anvil in the way you can break a Cannon).
    Admittedly that was bad wording on my part.

    The anvil of doom is not magic in a direct rules sense. There are no magic runes upon the anvil outside fluff reference. (In fluff it has a single rune known as the rune of sorcery but this has no bearing on rules play and doesn't even feature in the current army book)

    its probably not relevant but its not even the anvil which is casting the spells. rather its the rune lord making "runes" on the anvil (in the way a real smith makes a sword) this is of course only a fluff reference.

    its probably a better idea to go into how runes work on war machines.

    you may inscribe 3 runes on to a war machine. Once a rune is inscribed the war machine is to all intents and respects it carries the runes as magic items. the rules state as such

    it is important to remember that a runic item is no different in principal to any other magic item, and all the rules for magic items still apply
    Page 43 of the dwarf army book.

    An item doesn't however become runic until a rune is placed on it. Otherwise its rules must state that it is a magical item.

    the anvil of doom however may not have runes placed on it and is not defined as magical. it is defined as a war machine that may not be moved or attacked by any means. as such the anvil its self is not a magic item as defined by the rules of the game.

    it is according to the rules of the game a war machine that can make magical attacks.

    its an oddity in the rules ill admit but the wording is clear.
    Last edited by Arklite; May 19th, 2007 at 11:22.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    286
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    This was kind of covered with the tomb kings. it was decided by GW that you couldnt use Vaul's unmaking, spell eater rune, or anything that usualy destroyes magic items on the cascet of doom. I think the same ruling aplies to the anvil.

  11. #10
    Senior Member willadams33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    366
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    The Tomb Kings casket is slightly different as it is used in the magic phase so counts as a magical attack. Spell eater things can be used against the casket in just the same way as a dispel scroll can be used against it. Surely the anvil itself is a runic item so power can be taken from it, but as you said, it cannot be attacked. The best bet against the Anvil is to attack the crew as everything hits them, they benifit from the ward save but the shots still all hit them. Also at the GT last year, GW changed Thoreks rules to say that he only gets the reroll for a failed strike once per game rather than once per turn and that it counts as a shooting attack. They said that this will be made as an official update in a future white dwarf issue.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts