Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i just starting playing warhammer again, with the new 7th edition and all
i have a question that i just need clarifying on. im pretty sure im right, but just need to check.
so each wizard gets 2 power dice right, and they dont get any extras for a higher level right.
so a lv 2 wizard wouldnt get 4 power dice
if i have 3 wizards. each get 2 power dice and each of the wizards can only use those two, no mix-and-match.
am i right here?
you have 2 power dice basic in your pool
Each wizard generates one power dice per level
in 7th Ed, wizards can only use their own dice to cast spells, but dice from the pool may be used to cast any spell.
Dispel dice is 2 basic, 2 for being short (dwarves) and 1 per Lv 1/2 mage, and 2 per Lv 3/4 mage
so if i have 3 lv 2 wizards, then each wizard has 4 power dice to use for themselves?
no, if you have 3 Lv2, each wizrd has 2 dice they can use for themselves.
The 2 dice in your pool are 2 total, not per mage, and these can be used on any spell one of the 3 mages attept to cast (max. of 3 casting dice at a time for a Lv2)
I'll put it another way:
Your army has 2 power dice.
Each wizard has 1 power dice per magic level.
Magic Items you have might generate power dice (like a Power Familiar).
Other abilities might generate power dice too (like Marks of Tzeentch).
Wizards can only use their own power dice to cast spells, but the army's power dice and those generated by magic items and things like Marks of Tzeentch can be used by any of your wizards.
As for dispel dice:
Your army has 2 dispel dice (Dwarf armies get 4).
Level 1 and 2 wizards generate 1 dispel dice each.
Level 3 and 4 wizards generate 2 dispel dice each.
Other things like Marks of Khorne might generate a number of dispel dice.
All dispel dice collect together to form your dispel pool, from which you draw dice to attempt to dispel spells (obviously!).
"Peace, through superior firepower."
I'm a little confused. Are these dice regenerated each turn, or are they generated once per game? for example, if I have 2 lvl 1 wizards do I generate 4 total dice per turn (1 each, +2 pool) or 4 dice per game?
P.S. what exactly is a spell's power level( 1-5, I think). This is obviously a seperate value than the number needed on the dice to cast or dispel that spell.
Last edited by kellster1; June 28th, 2007 at 23:47.
Power dice are generated each magic phase (so you generate power dice in your magic phase, and you generate dispel dice in the enemies magic phase)
Bound spells have power levels, basically the spell is automatically cast as if you had rolled the power level using dice. the enemy can then choose to dispel as normal.
Spells don't have power levels, they have 'casting numbers' ( the number you need to equal or beat with your power dice to cast the spell), but as Deceiver pointed out, Bound Spell items do have power levels. I'll just explain this a little more clearly (some of my friends have screwed this up before).
The power level of a Bound Spell is the number that your opponent must beat using his dispel dice in order to stop the bound spell from going off. It is not, as my friends assumed, the number of dice used to cast it. Bound Spells automatically cast themselves, no power dice are needed.
I'm not being rude or anything, but if this has confused you I'd suggest you go back to the rulebook and re-read the whole magic section in detail. If there's still some things you're not sure about, please feel free to ask more questions or PM either me, Rork or anyone else that's helped you before.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Note also that you can use dispel scrolls or items that dispel/destroy against a spell cast from a bound item too, you are not limited to just dispel dice.