Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a Slaan is in the second rank of a unit of Lizardmen, can he be challenged? I would have thought the answer would be no, since in the army book it says that he is not considered to be part of the combat. But then today I read through the FAQ, which made no sense to me.
"Slann are not meant for combat and, unless he is inthe fighting rank, he cannot issue or refuse challenges.
If he is in the fighting rank, he may issue and accept
challenges as normal."
That is the part that gets me. So if he is not in the fighting rank he cannot issue challenges, but he has to accept all of them? Unless he is in the fighting rank at which time he can refuse challenges all he wants. Just seems all backwards.
Challenges Pg 77 BRB
Looks like sloppy wording. Unless a character is in the fighting rank, he cannot issue or accept challenges. I wouldn't say there is anything to override that.
The slann rules just mean that he can be in the 2nd rank and still be "in the game" unlike most characters (i.e. provide his ld, his BSB reroll etc.).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I suppose its sloppy wording in that a Slann or any character can never refuse a challenge.
A challenge can be issued if there is a character participating directly in the combat.
Then the player can refuse or accept. If the player accepts she chooses an eligible character.
If the player refuses then the opposing player moves an eligible character to the back rank.
The characters themselves never actually refuse directly. (Though this would be the case if there was only 1 character).
So its technically true and the Slann wouldn't be eligible for the challenge at any rate.