Moving Backwards Question and facing - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Springfield, TN
    Age
    44
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Moving Backwards Question and facing

    Hello-

    I was wondering about moving directly backwards.
    I have MV of 4". Assuming that I am facing the
    center of the table. I am presuming that the most
    I could BACK UP would be 2". Here's my logic:

    According to the rules, I burn 1/4 of my move (1")
    to turn 180 degrees. then I move 2" and BURN 1/4
    of the move (another 1") to turn back around 180
    degrees... Does this seem right?

    I guess the rule would be: In order to move backwards
    and remain forward facing, you lose 1/2 movement.

    It would also address side stepping. If you wanted to
    sidestep, you would turn 90 degrees right or left
    (losing 1/4 MV) and then move and lose 1/4 MV to
    reface forward...

    The other thing is about a right or left turn. According
    to the picture, if I have a rank and file unit that is
    5 x 4 (20 models), and I turn right 90 degrees,
    I become a 4 x 5 unit.
    So If I wanted to turn right and move and reform
    to 5x4, I could only move 1" (MV=4)

    Turn right (lose 1"), move 1" and reform (lose 2") =4

    Sound right?

    Timothy Richter
    Springfield, TN

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    You can make any number of legal manoeuvres as long as the distances used are equal to or less than your basic move.

    So as long as you don't try to make turns and such that amount to more than 100% of your basic move, any combination is legal (even if to some it looks like tactical cowardice ).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by timrichter9 View Post
    The other thing is about a right or left turn. According
    to the picture, if I have a rank and file unit that is
    5 x 4 (20 models), and I turn right 90 degrees,
    I become a 4 x 5 unit.
    So If I wanted to turn right and move and reform
    to 5x4, I could only move 1" (MV=4)

    Turn right (lose 1"), move 1" and reform (lose 2") =4

    Sound right?

    No.
    It's the same as back up. You can right face, move half distance and then left face to get you facing back the original direction. Most people just slide the movement tray 2" to the right or left when they do this little cha-cha move.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts