Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
First off, hello everyone, this is my first post on LO.
On to my question: for the Hand weapon and shield rule of getting an additional +1 to armor save, I was wondering does a spear count as a hand weapon for this purpose, so can you get an additional armor for only a hand weapon and shield or would a spear and a shield also give you a +1 armor save?
What about magic weapons, like a sword of power or the mace of helsturm in the empire army book?
I believe there is a thread on this a little further down in this forum (try search button), but as I am in a good mood I'll give you the short version (): magical weapons almost always loose their status as a hand weapon, and therefore does not give you the HW+shield bonus.
Edit: It was actually a little more buried than I thought, and strictly speaking not on HW+shield, but on armour saves in general, my bad. The thread in question did however cover your question at some point, namely here: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...r-saves-3.html
Last edited by skilett; June 19th, 2007 at 00:12.
Generally speaking if it isn't your run of the mill, bog standard, every-model-has-one hand weapon, then you won't get the extra +1 save in close combat, just the regular +1 for having the shield. I suspect this is done to actually give people an incentive to use hand weapons, since most other types of weapons have a significant advantage over the humble hand weapon. I think that's why the hand weapon was given the "parry bonus" to make it a viable option rather than the choice being "anything but hand weapons!".
Also, as Skillett said, magic weapons, even if they are essentially a magical hand weapon, don't actually count as a hand weapon unless their magical effects are nullified. So you wouldn't get a bonus to your save normally, but if your opponent had a magic item or spell which nullified the magic of the weapon it would revert to being a hand weapon and I think you would get the bonus save. When/if it regained its magic you would lose the bonus save again...complicated eh?
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group