Chariot 360 Charge Arc? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    do chariots have a 360 charge arc?

    I thought they did but then that would make them very nasty. Also can they be poisoned (I think yes, but I need an upper hand against those damned skinks).


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Sorcerer Spike_alike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    England, Northamptonshire
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x4)

    I dont think they do - they are mounted things after all.
    A Promise to a dead man means nothing.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    GOBBOLAND!
    Posts
    1,391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x3)

    Maybe if they where fast cavalry chariots.. but they aint. So chariots do not have a 360 charge arc.
    Ã?ou normally roll to wound against the chariots toughness and save on the chariots save, so i believe they are immune to poison. War machines are, so i cant see why chariots shouldnt be immune aswell.

  5. #4
    Member Frank in L.A.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Chariots need line of sight to charge: Rulebook p. 127, "Moving Chariots"
    LOS defined as 90 deg 'arc of sight': Rulebook p. 44, "Declare Charges"; p. 41, "Facing"
    (I don't think I'm allowed to quote the text directly, so I just put pg #s )

    The first game out of the box, I assumed since the chariot moves 360 deg, it could charge 360 as well. I was mistaken and got boned (the good part about learning such things 'the hard way' is now I won't forget&#33. Unfortunately, no. You CAN wheel the chariot around to any facing you choose at no movement cost during the movement phase. So, just be thoughtful about which direction you leave it facing at the end of its movement.

    Not positive about the poison question. The book p. 114 says "unliving targets (such as war machines)" are immune, as are some troop types, and that any such immunity will be clearly stated in the troop descrption. A chariot is not a war machine. Is it an "unliving target"? I think so. The rules say hits on the chariot are scored against the chariot as a whole (basically, as a vehicle, though it has living crew and horses). So, I agree with Wicked. I'd be interested to see an official correct answer on this, too.

    Frank in L.A.

  6. #5
    DING chemicalcaveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    242 (x6)

    Would i be right in saying that Tomb King chariots have a 360 charge arc? Or am i totally wrong. I am basing this on the fact that they can form units etc.

  7. #6
    Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,982
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

    Right to clear it up,

    NO they don't have a 360 charge arc. But they do have a 360 movement, they can move any direction without penalty. Although to charge they must have a line of site to the unit, like it's been said you then have a 90 arc to charge with. For the poison I'm unsure either, but I would say no. Being as the chariot is treated as a whole and one it takes three wounds it's destroyed, but the crew are the only ones who can be poisoned and they don't a sperate wound. But I'm unsure.

    Now for the Khemri chariot units, no they don't have a 360 arc. If you read their entry in the TK army book it says the unit is treated exactly like a Fast Cav unit.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts