Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just recently played my friend's Night Goblin army, brimming to the rim with fanatics and netters. Now, the situation thankfully did not come up because I didn't bring any ambitious lords/heroes with the rune in question, but it may come up in the future as my friend was not above charging a single character with multiple units. Here's the conflict:
The Master Rune of Skalf Blackhammer states that the character's strength is raised to the neccesary value until they wound their target on a 2+. Now, if somehow my friend managed to throw 4 units with netters on me, and I'm targetting a warboss wearing the armour of gork (Toughness 5,) technically I need S11 to wound on a 2+.
Now, obviously, this situation may never, ever come up. However, it does raise another issue: what if something has T9 or T10, or some other scenario has made it impossible to wound on a 2+ with the exception of going above S10? Does the rune allow the strength to go above and beyond the usual 10-max, or does it cap off and the rune's wording proves faulty?
Just so you know, the rune's rules do not clearly state whether or not it caps off. It literally says to raise it until you wound on a 2+.
Thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this topic. I also apologize if there is no realistic situation where this would happen, fact is I don't know everything on other lists. :ninja:
Every whisper of the future from the Warp speaks of a hundred battles lost, a thousand lives devoured and a million enemies born. -- Inquisitor Lord Babel
Actually to wound on a 2+ your Strength only needs to be 2 higher than the enemies toughness. So no matter how many netters decreasng your strength, your strength will still be raised to 7 in order to wound on a 2+
The only issue would come when facing T9 or 10 enemies as you said, and your Str would need to be 11 or 12 to wound respectively. In this case, if you have worded the item description correctly then you would indeed effectively go above S10, as you basically always wound on a 2+. However the armour save modifier would still be the same as for S10 (i.e -7)
Also if during that phase your strength is required for anything else (A Characteristic test for example) then you would count him as S10 for that purpose, to avoid other possible complications.
I didn't think the minus to strength from multiple net units was cumulative?
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts