Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all. I’m not really sure if this is quite the right thread to post this in; it’s kind of a conversion idea and kind of a rules query, but I suppose it’s more related to the rules so I’ve put it here.
Basically, several nights ago I was working on a unit of Skeletons (for my Vampire Counts army), and I had an idea for a conversion. I intend using full command for the unit (champion, standard bearer and musician) and, rather than using a banner, I thought it would be kind of cool to attach the musician, or at least the top half of the musician (i.e. ribcage, arms and skull), to the standard bearer’s pole. Kind of like the slightly dodgy sketch below…
<sorry, I can't seem to get my picture to work - I'll try later>
I was thinking that, to represent the fact that this standard bearer/musician is effectively two models, I would attach two of the 20mm bases together, making a sort of mini-diorama within the unit. However, I was wondering how this sits in terms of the game rules.
I had a bit of a flick through a Rulebook, and also had a browse through the forums here, but couldn’t find anything conclusive to say that you could or couldn’t do something like this. Common sense seems to suggest that it shouldn't be a problem as long as both playes know about it, but I still thought I’d go ahead and ask.
Does anyone know of any problems that this kind of conversion could cause? Does each model has to be on its own base, or can you put two models on the one base? (And if so, does that base need to be equal to the size of the two of the individual bases?)
Or am I just worrying about something completely irrelevant?
Thanks in anticipation of your answers. I’m tempted to go ahead with this conversion regardless, and if I do I’ll attempt to put some pictures up so you can see how it went.
Bye for now.
The only time you might have trouble with this is if your unit breaks from combat. If you break from combat your troops automatically drop their standard, which the enemies automatically gets if he persues you.
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
Not necesarilly, the command models can now be placed in any order in the fronk rank, so the champion could be separate.
I don't think it should be a problem at all- I quite like the idea. Many people already mount their command groups (even the whole front rank) on a single base. You won't face the problem of having to remove the banner which other units have to worry about and you can probably get by with just keeping track of the champion if he gets killed off in combat. As far as the rules aspect- maybe make a thin mark on the long base to show where each seperate 'base' begins and ends just in case placement becomes important for some reason.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
It isn't a problem as long as the bigger base isn't larger/smaller than the equivalent number of small bases.
Just look at the grail reliquarie for bretts - that has a model on a larger base and that's straight from GW.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Thanks for the replies, everyone. Seeing as the general consensus seems to be ‘There won’t be a problem,’ I think the conversion is going to go ahead!
I’ll try and get some pictures when I’m finished, but you’ll have to bear with me as I’m a rather slow worker and not the best photographer either… :cry:
I know this thread has long since died, but I did promise I would post pictures when I finished.
Turns out I finished quite some time ago, but didn't get around to having somewhere to put the pictures so that I could post them. Now that I've done that, I can actually put some pictures up.
So, there you have it. I didn't pick the best angles for the pics, but you can still sort of see what's going on.
Oh, and it will get painted eventually . Just give me a few months...