Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Beasts are a normal army that I have to play against and I just want to clear a few things up... Is it true that each minotaur in a unit that charges gets an impact hit each? Also, if his army deploys one unit of 10 gors, can he ambush with 3 units of 10 gors? We play 1000pt games and his list usually looks something like this...
Hero (don't know what hes called sorry)
10 Gors x 4
Thanks for any help!
The rule concerning ambushing is open to interpretation; the way people usually view the rule is that for every unit you ambush with, you will need another of the same size or more with same weaponry deployed normally. So 3 gor units of 10 in ambush requires 3 gor units of 10+ normally deployed.
The libaral way of looking at it is what your opponent does; 1 unit has to be deployed like normal, and then he can ambush with as many as he wants of the same type & size. Usually the first method is used, won't know which is legal untill the FAQ is out.
Minotaurs give an impact hit when they charge, yes.
If you don't believe things or are uncertain, you can always ask your opponent if he can point those things out for you in the book. There is no reason he would refuse to show the rules ( unless he's hiding something? )
Well he is my friend so I just take his word for everything. I figured that minotaurs did give impact hits but i was just confused because I remember playing a game against him with my brets when the new rulebook came out and it required him to roll a D3. Maybe it was for a champ or something, but as for the ambushing, he uses the 2nd method you mentioned. I find that to be extremely cheap and unfair because he just brings them in right next to my front line and charges the hell out of me. It's sort of really lame if you ask me... He killed my organ gun crew in one turn of combat, overran into my warriors, killed them all the next turn of combat by making them run like little girls, and then charged the flank of my longbeards along with a frontal charge from minotaurs. making them run like little girls as well. I don't see why people say dwarfs tend to hold because I saw none of that. My Men @ Arms did better against chaos knights... (they got insane courage twice in a row, the chaos player was pretty ticked off...)
Last edited by TheKid; May 31st, 2010 at 19:15.
He has to roll to see what table edge he comes from, do not forget.
It is commonly accepted that the first method is the legal one. 1 unit on the table, for 1 in ambush. They did that in the white dwarf report as well.
Give this a try; a dragonslayer without equipment, just the bare 50 pts, let him guard your warmachines. And when you charge a dwarf unit in the rear it is no suprise they won't hold. It's banner + outnumber vs rear + rank + kills. Minotaurs are hard, they can slaughter their way through a lot.
But because he has so much in ambush you can also take the fight to him and march your combat units forward so that his ambushing units can't charge you in the rear when they come on the table.
And consider the rune of determination, cheap and handy. Or maybe the best option; an oathstone, his army doesn't have missile weapons anyway.
Is there a link for that White Dwarf article? I would really love to show him it since he always needs proof for things that hurt his army...