Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, specifically a Minotaur Lord or Hero. Here's the scenario. I have a Minotaur Lord in a unit of Bestigors. He completes rank and file. So, if a unit SHOOTS at his unit, let's say..empire handgunners. Can they target him specifically or does he benefit as a rank and file and the normal shots wont hit him. Also, would he gain a "Look out Sir!" roll for templates, cannons, etc? I've been wondering this for awhile...
As he is not the same foot print size he doesn't complete rank and file, and is instead placed on the side of the unit outside of rank and file. He cannot be targeted by nontemplate weapons as far as I know, however he won't get look out sir as he is not the same unit type as the Bestigors.
Hope that helps.
Oh snap you're completely right. Some reason I thought his base size was bigger lol. Whoops, my bad. Cool that helped me realize my mistake. Thanks dude.
Naque i think is wrong here i think
he does not go on the outside of the unit unless they are on the very small square bases inwhich case he has to but even then i am not sure as skaven can do it i think with there rat ogres
if however they r on the 25mil square bases then he can go anywhere in the front rank and can do a mkae way sir rule. if u want u can be very sneaky here and go 5 wide with ur comand in front taking up 3 spaces then ur doombull taking up 2 spaces and then put ur bsb in the 2nd rank as there is no room for him in the front and ur comand has to go at the front. this is very common with ogres who go 3 wide and put there bsb in the 2nd rank and unless u kill his champion there is no way to hurt him
but no they can not target him unless its a template weapon in which case they can and he does not get a look out sir
He does NOT get a look out sir roll, and his foot print IS different, he goes on the side of the unit. If he were on a 50mm base he could fit in a unit of Bestigors, but still would not get a LoS roll. But Minotaurs go on 40mm Bases. That being said he does not interrupt full ranks or anything by being on the side.
Now I don't have the rulebook in front of me, and I also NEVER put a ghorbull or doombull in with my bestigors, so I'm no expert on the subject. but I know in some instances characters can leave a unit and so long as they stay within 3 inches (although the unit has to be of thir same troop type) you get a 4+ look out sir. Unfortunatley being a monstrous infantry model in a unit of well...infantry I'd have to say no.
this is true but I'd say the main disadvantage is the fact that minotaur leaders give frenzy too units, and they lose primal fury. Putting a Mino Char in a Mino Unit just gives them the turn of frenzy for free, and gives additional combat wins more attacks, But when put in a unit or Gors, Ungors, or Besti's they lose PF and gain Frenzy, and since you attack in multiple rows now, PF > Frenzy as a general rule.
The only time i would want Frenzy over Pf is if the unit is 2 ranks deep, and i don't think someone would drop a Minotaur character in a unit that shallow anyhow.
Indeed, question aside as its been answered (no offense), with your bestigors only add wargors, beast lords, and the occasional shaman (he gets better protection here anyway). The one that gives me trouble is at 1000 points you have to face 23 bestigors with a wargor bsb and shaman in the unit. very killy, neither my dwarfs or orcs could get it, and I wasnt going to do beasts on beasts, just is a contest of who know their army the best.Why do you think I bought and painted 36 minotaurs?Putting a Mino Char in a Mino Unit just gives them the turn of frenzy for free, and gives additional combat wins more attacks
ok for those that keep on going on about the foot print thing well look at the rule book
there is a picture of a knight inside a unit of handgunners or something. the knight is on a different base but he can still join the unit AND can do a makeway. However he does not get a look out sir
the footprint think if for units on a 25mil base joining a unit on a 20mil base as they dont fit correctly and hence you cant line your guys up
You can put you lord in the beasgore unit although i have no idea why u wld want to as he wld get shot to bits as he doesnt get a look out sire rule
In short: Base size and footprint are too different things
The Knight and Handgunners picture have the knight on the edge, because his footprint is 25x50 and does not fit with the handgunners who are 20x20. A footprint is when the base size is larger but still has the EXACT same size area Ex: A minotaurs Base size is 40x40mm, which would not fit in with 25mm bases as even 2 bases would be larger than his 40mm. However he would into and displace 4 models on 20mm bases as his "Footprint" is the same as 4 20x20mm bases hudled together in a 2 by 2 square.
The other example where a chaos knight joins a unit of chaos warriors he does displace warriors into the back and adds to rank and file because his footprint does match, or "fit" into their base size of 25x25 with his "footprint" of 25x50.
The only real use for matching footprints(realistically) is to gain additional complete ranks, over just having the character lead that unit, as different base sizes usually different unit type, and therefor no LoS rolls. Skarsnik is the only model i can think of off the top of my head while typing this that has a much different base type but still counts as a Inf like his fellow NGs