Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I may seem like a complete moron for asking this and yes i do feel like one but here goes anyway. Do you need both the Hordes of Chaos and Beasts of Chaos army books in order to play beasts of chaos or use them to their best ability.
Please help i am torn between beasts of chaos and hordes of chaos for my first warhammer army if i can use a couple of units from one army in another army that would help me decide.
I want an army that is solid in cc has some good models and has some nasty tricks that you can employ.
Please help any info on beasts of chaos is good and will be appreciated and please dont abrevieate.
well, i havent played beasts before, i just really started making sample army lists.
i dont think its a moronic question at all...
getting the "hordes of chaos" book would allow your beastman characters to use items from the hordes book, as well as letting daemons/mortals into your army (in every sample list i have made, i always feature one unit of chaos warriors - they seem to make for a good backbone when basic beasts have such a poor leadership)
or vice versa - having a mortal with beasts equipment and maybe some beastmen for a fast, maneuverable assault unit.
personally, yes, i would say you would need both books - as even if you DONT use any beasts, the beasts book also has big beasties like trolls/minotaurs/giants/shaggoths etc that could lend a real punch to an already formidable army, and extra magical items to boot. just my two cents!
(now i have a question for beasts players)
do beast herds negate rank bonuses (from flank charges etc)? the unit itself DOES get a rank bonus, however, it is a skirmishing unit and doesnt say it doesnt negate the enemies rank bonus...
Last edited by Malignant_one; November 16th, 2005 at 22:16.
Apathy is its own reward...
Good question i have no clue but i would assume that they are the same as other skirmishers or "raiders"
well, i went on another (specialised) forum, and looked around there, and no, beast herds do not negate rank bonuses from flank/rear charges, even though they themselves get rank bonuses.
just thought i would post here, just to clarify.
Apathy is its own reward...
They are skirmishers for all intents and purposes, with the exceptions bulleted in their army special rules at the beginning of the book. They get ranks, they need 25% of the unit in range to charge, and they rank up funny.
I might be forgetting one, but beast rules come naturally after so much play with them.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.