Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
does the chracter count as both a daemon and beasty in reguard to core army selection or just a beast
Let me give you a general guideline for trying to interpret the rules. In general, unless it is explicitly stated in the Army Book that there is an exception to the rule, then the rule remains unchanged. Of course, GW can't catch every loophole so they release FAQs sometimes to clarify certain ruling questions. Anyway, with regard to your question, look at the wording for the Unliving Idol daemonic gift. It says that the Daemon Prince counts as a Beasts general for the purposes of Army Selection. Now go back and look at your army book and see what it means when your character is a Beast General. In this case, there shouldn't be much of a problem with interpreting the rules literally; the daemon's usual Daemonic army selection rules have been overridden by the Unliving Idol gift.
In future, I recommend that you try and interpret the rule yourself and see if you can come up with a ruling on your own. If you can't, then post your possible interpretations here instead of simply asking. This shows that you have read your army book and that you have done some thinking and your post will be generally better received.