Beast herds and frenzy - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Koosh for the KooshLord kooshlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Slightly below Join Date, just above Age
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,362
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    99 (x3)

    Beast herds and frenzy

    Hi all,

    I had an idea that I wanted people to think through with me.

    If you were to put a character with the mark of khorne in a beast-herd, could you use the herd to block his line of sight to enemy models, preventing him from charging out of the unit? Since the skirmish ability makes for a fluid unit, you don't have to have the character at the front of the unit all the time (characters move the the front in CC). So this looks like a way to gain a cheap negation of the frenzy-bait.

    Admittedly beast-herds sometimes charge the enemy unexpectedly anyway, but at least this way your character doesn't run off unsupported.

    Let's hear your thoughts!
    Koosh


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Certainly. Models block line of sight, so it's perfectly legal to position models in a herd to "blind" a frenzied character within it.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Koosh for the KooshLord kooshlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Slightly below Join Date, just above Age
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,362
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    99 (x3)

    excellent! thanks for the confirmation!

    Koosh

  5. #4
    Senior Member Orkbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    574
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x3)

    Unfortunately, pg.67 of the rulebook says differently:
    Skirmisher units do NOT block LOS for their own unit members and characters which have joined them.
    But of course, if you do position your character further back in the unit, he himself might be out of charge range anyways.

  6. #5
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    Orkbert is correct on this, skirmishers do not block line of sight to models or characters in their own unit. Of course, you could always have the character behind the skirmishers and not actually join them. It would then block his line of sight, but then he would be able to do much either!
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Doesnt the rest of the squad gain the frenzy ablility since the character has that ability or only he has it and the units dont gain it?

  8. #7
    Member Stavrogin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kragujevac-Serbia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    If only character has frenzy then he must charge out of the unit if in case he has a range and unit doesn't-less than half model out of range for beast herd is perfect example for this.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Ok thanks i was hoping that the units would gain frenzy if my hero had it. Atleast my squads can gain the nurgle mark and slaanesh mark.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Burnanation's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Woodstock, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    ummm they don't gain the mark. If you have "someone" of nurgle, he can join your beast heard, but you only have one fear causing fig.
    Burnanation's Recruitment Link
    Baby boys are like free bulldozer rental tickets. You have no idea what you're going to do with them but you know they are awesome!

  11. #10
    Member Stavrogin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kragujevac-Serbia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    But it makes your heard imune to fear, so its not that bad.
    If i'm a priest, i'm not a saint.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts