Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i know the direwolf FAQ states that the monstrous mount (either hippo or pegasus) doesn't benefit from the 4+ ward save from the grail shield, only the regular blessing. it also states that this is part interpretation.
my question is; has anybody got official confirmation on this, because the army book wording is really ambiguous IMO
Hrm, I'm fairly certain that the mount does not get the shield's ward save bonus (about 80% sure). The logic for this would be that the Lord/Paladin is the one holding the shield, thus he would benefit from the save. And I'm fairly sure that in the item description it doesn't state that a mount would benefit from the save as well. Unlike something like say the "Golden Eye of Tzeentch (HoC)" which specifically states that the ward save given benefits the mount as well.
If you go by the official FAQ that GW released for the new army book, the answer is no, ward saves granted the character are not transferred to mounts.
Of course, the army book can override this, but from my reading of the text, it doesn't.
It's the word "model" that's confusing, but whereas the whole model has the blessing of the lady, only the character has the ward save. It does say, the "bearer's ward save" is increased. Then, if the model loses the blessing, the bearer loses the ward save.
Just check the archive for this quesiton on the site. I debate it regularly. Before someone gives you their opinion on it, they need to have read the entries regarding the blessing and the other regarding the shield. With that information you can conclude that the shield is "enhancing" your blessing bonus not giving you an entirely seperate such save. If that is true then of course the shield effects the mount. Again, check the archive but understand that if the rider losing the blessing the shield is effectively nulled too. That also supports that method.
Superworld reborn. Post feedback http://126.96.36.199/~librariu/foru...ad.php?t=86340