Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I did a quick search and found some of the answers i was looking for but 1 remains...
On the charge with lance formation do the steeds get to attack as well? The rules say the "knight model" but since they dont count as seperate wounds are removed as a single model does that mean the horse gets his attacks too?
Yes, steeds also get to attack in Lance.
All knights and steeds in the front row and flanks of each row do indeed get to attack on the charge. Visualize the Bretonnian Knights actually charging through the enemy ranks, and the steeds trampling soldiers as they run through if you want a bit of explanation for it .
O it nmakes sense ...i just had one of those moments of realization the other night and smacked my forehead for missing out on all that goodness...
And then visualize, after they go steaming through the ranks of the opponent unit if the enemy doesn't flee they say righto boys, reverse! And walk backwards out of the ranks of the enemy, and line themselves up dead in front of the enemy unit, allowing them to reform, and leaving just 3 of their own models in base contact.
Still make good sense to you?
It's also a good thing since for some reason steeds seem to be more effective than their riders.
They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my SPESS MAHREENS!
lol agreed....leave it to the horse to kill the uber character every stinking time lol
Steeds do seem to be good for a wound or 2 per charge .
Something interesting that came up a couple weeks ago... I had a combat in which the Pegasus Knights were already holding the frontage of a unit, and I wanted to charge in to fix it. However, my unit of Knights of the Realm could only contact the enemy unit (I think it was a unit of Savage Orc Boyz) on one corner.
The end result was all 7 of the Knights riding in lance formation got their attacks, even though only one knight was technically in base to base. That is extra weird.
In that case i think only the one flank of Knights should have been able to attack. Just like with spears, think only models in base to base, corner to corner, or behind either of these are able to attack.
so, where O = Orc, K = Knight which may not attack, and A = Knight which may attack: