Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a Bretonnian BSB carry an Enchanted Shield?
I want to do:
Virtue of Duty
Puts his armor save back up to 1+, and he adds +2 to combat resolution.
"He may not be given any extra equipment"
This includes mundane Shields. So i think that he is also unable to take a magical shield, but i'm not positive... (As he still has armour, so can take magic armour, etc etc). Fluff and RAI (rules as intended) wise, no.
Couldn't I argue in favor by example in the Wood Elf book.
Wood Elf BSBs must retire their bow, but may still take a magic weapon - which may be, ironically - a magic bow.
"He may carry a magic banner (no points limit), but if he does so he may not take any other magic items, though he may still take a Virtue up to 50 points in addition to the magic banner."
Any other magic items. Can I not infer that this means he may take magic equipment, including selections from the magic armor section?
Last edited by MobiusPrime; March 31st, 2009 at 16:18.
Lol. Erm... yeah why not lol.
You are not giving him a banner with no point limits, therefore the restriction does not apply.
Right, having bothered to look it up, i was right in the first place.
Main Rulebook, page 121. No mundane shield = no magic shield. (same for helms and armour)
The same does not apply to any magic weapons, so thats why the WEs get their bow.
But there's not a single character choice from any army that may equip a mundane helmet.
Additionally, Tomb Kings have no option for mundane heavy armor, but Armor of the Ages and Scorpion Armor both count as heavy armor.
I know examples for one army typically doesn't grandfather to a different army, but I think this is a case where it should.
Also, I only use Tomb Kings and Wood Elves as examples because those are the only two other armies I know. Other examples may exist in the game elsewhere.
Last edited by MobiusPrime; March 31st, 2009 at 17:23.
- covering themselves for the future
- clarifying it so that a character (e.g bret lord) can wear the magic helm as well as armour. Otherwise it would need FAQing... which they would make a mess of.
No distinction between LA or HA is needed, Kings can wear Mundane (light) armour, hence they are able to wear any magic suit of armour (Light of Heavy). The three distinctions are Shield, Suit and Helm. Subclasses do not matter.
Both issues are fine
I still disagree.
I want my freekin survivable BSB dangit!