Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
in the lance formation everyone in base contact with the front 3 get to attack yes? so what if the champion on one side is lockedout in a challenge? does it prevent the other models behind him from attacking? and does it do the same for the unit that the lance is fighting?
Uh, do you mean to ask if everyone in your own unit in base contact with the front 3 can fight? If that is what you mean, then no. Of the models in the 2nd, 3rd, etc. ranks, only the ones on the flanks can fight, not the models in the middle. So the model in the 2nd rank that is in base contact with one of the front 3 does not fight.
I don't think a challenge would affect the models in the back fighting. The rulebook states that when you are forming the Lance, the models in the flanks fight so long as the models in the front are engaged in close combat.
I'm not sure what your question about this affecting the opponent's unit means.
High Elf WiP Tactica
its a funny one. say i have unit 5 wide and my champ is in the middle and in contact with the bret champ. if he challenges i stay were i am, which would lock the rest of the unit on one side out if the combat. ifthis was the case then would the models on the sideof the formation be locked out aswell? or do they count as being in base contact or the purposes of that round of combat, meaning the rest of my unit could also attack back?
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by lock the one side out of combat. It would help if you were more detailed in your description (which unit is the side that is locked out, etc). Also, since you are in the Bretonnian forum, if you say 'I have a unit five wide' everyone is going to think you are running your Bretonnian unit five wide.
In an attempt to answer your question, when Bretonnian knights are in the lance formation and charge they have special rules that allow the knights along the flanks of the unit to attack, so long as the model in the front rank is engaged with an enemy model. The only caveat that limits the lances attack options are models in the second and beyond may not attack specific models (ie, put attacks on characters or champions), they must attack basic rank and file enemy models.
Last edited by MobiusPrime; June 27th, 2009 at 05:08.
I think what he is trying to ask.
If your brettonian unit champion is enganged in a challenge with an enemy infantry champion, Can the model directly behind the brettonian champion still fight against the enemy unit as the 2 champions are in a challenge and thus technically "locked out" of the unit.
The answer in my eyes would be yes, as both champions are still part of their respective units, challenge or not.
yeah ok i get it now tank you!