Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
last friday I played a friends brettonian army, and we ran into some trouble concerning this lance formation. In the brettonian army book it states that when models are removed (by casualties etc) from the unit, they are first removed from the middle in the rear rank.
But what if the lance has only 1 rank left, and in this rank the one in the middle is a dowsel(? the female wizards). Can he then choose to either remove a knight from the flank in the rear rank, or does this mean he has to remove the wizard?
Alright. seems easy enough. so we have 3 models left in the squad. First, when it comes down to a character in a unit have you forgotten to randomize the hits?
second, what save did you use to roll for this wound? I do believe damsels have a lower save then the knights around her.
the thing is, the wizard is not in the front rank, so hitting the wizard is not an option. But it's just in the brettonian army book it says that models from the lance are removed from the middle first, and since he's down to 2 ranks the wizard is in the middle of the rear.
the lance looked something like this:
KNIGHT PALADIN KNIGHT
KNIGHT WIZARD KNIGHT
in a normal case, where the wizard is a knight, the knight in the middle of the rear is removed (as stated in the army book). but what to do in this case?
Your friend probably forgot to read the rest of the rule:
"Models are allways removed from the centre of the back rank (unless the centre model is a character)"
A player cannot choose to take hits on his characters (damsel) instead of his rank and file. The attacker states who he attacks, either a character, champion, or rank n file. The damsel is in the second rank, so she does not take combat hits until she gets to enemy contact.
taking casualties from the centre is irrelevant in this case, because there are no rank and file troops in the centre of the unit
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Thanks alot, this clears it out!