Broken Tomb Kings - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I played a guy last night that took 2 stone throwers, two priests, one high priest, and a prince, among other things in the army.

    I'm curious... do all his casters get all the spells? Can a high priest re-cast the same spell multiple times? Can the smite spell be cast multiple times on the same unit, causing it to get 3 or 4 extra turns of shooting?

    He was causing his stone throwers to shoot 3 or 4 times a turn which really demolished my knight heavy brettonian army. How can this be balanced or legal? The High priest had 3D6 for each spell which cannot miscast? Geeze.

    Also, he said that his prince could redirect any wound he suffered onto any other model within 4", making him virtually unkillable.

    This post has been edited by Brother Zebadiah: Today, 06:51

    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x3)

    I thought that any unit could only have one of the incantations cast on it in one turn. All of their spell casters know all of the incantations and can attempt the same one more than once, however not at the same unit.
    Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts

  4. #3
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    I'm pretty sure (i.e. not certain) he can only cast the incantation-of-extra-shooting-round once per unit per turn - so his catapults could only fire twice in one turn, maximum.

    But yes, all his casters get all the spells, they can cast them more than once and they cannot miscast - though they cannot cast with Irresistable Force either.

    No idea on the Prince giving out his wounds question.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  5. #4
    Son of LO strewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    139 (x8)

    Heh, I answered this over in the TK forum... There is an item that allows the prince to do that, so it isn't cheating.

    Do not worry too much about him, the hierophant is the one you want to kill. That makes his army crumble and the liche is much easier to kill than the prince or king.

    Maybe take a lord on hyppogryph, send him on a suicide run. Charge the unit that the heirophant is in and direct all attacks on him, that will kill him. Trust me, the sacrifice will be worth it if you get that heirophant dead. And you should be able to from that assault...
    The LO ANZAC Clan!

    The Pirate's Haven BFG clan! Breathe life into this fantastic GW system.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Sounds like he was playing within the rules. Thanks for the help, guys. Next time, I'll definitely shy away from the all knight army and go with more men-at-arms, perhaps 3 damsels, and some flyers.
    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Brother Zebadiah@Jan 28 2005, 20:27
    Sounds like he was playing within the rules. Thanks for the help, guys. Next time, I'll definitely shy away from the all knight army and go with more men-at-arms, perhaps 3 damsels, and some flyers.
    [snapback]314515[/snapback]
    Yeah TK can be nasty for a bretonnia army. The prince only gets 2 of the incanations (Move again/attack again) and these can only effect his own unit or one within 6'. The incanation can only effect each catapult once, thus each cata can fire once in magic phase once in shooting phase. Remember thou a miscast in magic phase means no shooting in shooting phase. I would definatly recomend at least 2 damsels in army, and at least 1 scroll. Pegasus Knights are a MUST

  8. #7
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x3)

    But the Tomb King player can't miscast as the incantation goes off automatically with no dice. The really handy thing is they can use the magic phase as a ranging shot and then let fly in the shooting phase knowing exactly how far away the unit is. Closing Tomb King magic down is hard work due to the volume of incantations they can use. You either need a lot of dispel dice or a lot of scrolls.
    Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts

  9. #8
    I AM CAN HAS CHEESEBURGER bonjordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Age
    26
    Posts
    925
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    okay lets clear it up. he can make units shoot again, but not more than 1 time.

    tomb kings rock, i love my tomb kings and they arent broken. look at vc for broken, raising hundreds of xtra points of troops. sigh

  10. #9
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Essex
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x3)

    Tomb kings are for more subtle and complicated then Vampire counts. I have played both and the tomb king player had to think a lot more carefully about what he did. Vampire counts just came running at me with a blood dragon in a unit of black knights, bit like playing Bretonians really
    Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts

  11. #10
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    GOBBOLAND!
    Posts
    1,391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x3)

    I think he has to roll over a certain score with a D6 to let the wound transfer. Pretty sure actually.
    Could've been 4+.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts