Choosing Units - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Choosing Units

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

Right, I am pretty new to WHFB having migrated from 40K and have decided to play Bretonnians. (Partly due to the fact that I absolutly LOVE the plastic Knights)

Anyroad, I am having real trouble coming up with a decent army list and am looking for a little help.

KNIGHTS
    Knights Errant - I have sorta dismissed these guys as for 4pts more I can get KotR that have better WS and Ld.

Knights of the Realm - The mainstay of my force. I was planning to include 3 units of 9 in lance formations. Is this overkill. Should I be looking at;
    a) 2 units of 9 or
    b) 3 units of 6
    c) fine as 3x9

Pegasus Knights - While the models are nice, i just believe that in a 1,500 point game they are too expencive. A unit of 3 seems like it could be too fragile and end up being shot out the sky, or ent stuck in CC separated from the rest of the army and them being overrun.
    a) How survivable are Pegasus Knights, is a unit of 3 strong enough?
    b) I know characters cant join flying units, but could a Paladin General on a Royal Pegasus hang around with the unit, and then charge at the same time? Basically two units working in tandem?
    c) In a 1,500 Pt game are Pegasus Knights best left behing in favor of more ground based troops?

Questing Knights - The models I HATE, but, I can see these easily converted using the greatswords from the Empire Free Army box and the KotR box.
    1) Are these models worth the increased points cost?