Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So what is the deal with this item exactly ? We were looking over it and it sounds like it would also give the mount the new ward save as well. Seeing as how the rider gives the mount HIS ward save from the blessing and the shield is effectively improving said save. It may seem unbalanced but considering they can both still lose it from losing the blessing it also seems pheasable.
I wondered that myself.
I was also wondering if the Armor of Agiluf's regeneration carried over to the mount.
There once was a Lord named Vlad,
Who's fighting skillz really were mad.
He killed and he maimed,
He spilled blood in Khorne's name.
And the fact that he's legal makes me glad
(special thanks to Uriel Zarium for the last line/touching it up)
As to regen no. It is only for the character, most abilities from equipment don't pass on their their mounts unless it says so (or another rule for the army dictates it).Originally Posted by Direwolf FAQ
Yeah I've been to the Dire wolf council's faq page myself and I know they're fairly comprehensive with their collection of Q&A but they break their own rule when coming up with that decision. They suggest you always use a strict interpretation and their answer is neither GW sourced nor is it strict. The fact of the matter is, the item itself is enhancing the blessing and it says "...can lose this ward save as normal" so there doesnt seem to be any justifyable reason that if you improve the riders wardsave then since they share the same wardsave for the blessing that the mount wouldnt get the new one too. Really dont see why this isnt in a chronicals or something.
I agree with Domstrae... The same reason that the Dire wolf council emphasized that the 'bearer's ward save' is improved also hints strongly to the fact that it is the bearer's ward save that is conferred on to the steed.
So, as a related question: if a lord has the virtue of purity, does the monster steed get ward save upgraded to 5+ under all situations? once again, it states that the knight's ward save gained from the blessing of the lady is upgraded...
It's only a lance of Grail Knights... won't hurt at all!
Well I really wish more people would weigh in on the subject. I do have one more thing to add to the subject. For anybody who thinks it doesn't improve the mounts save think of the Banner of Defence. Its effect only improves the blessing too, in other words, it is also not a new indapendant wardsave so if you flee etc.. you will lose the banner's power as well. Do you really think the mounts dont get the banners bonus as well ?
ok Doomstrae... here's more people (person)
i always use the grail shield on my Lord on hippogriff, for the 4+ ward save for the hippogriff
in the army book, on the blessing page, it says that the mount has the same blessing save as the rider.
so therefore as the grail shield, increases the blessing save, thus the hippogriff gets the 4+ ward...
when i used this at my local shop a couple of my opponents said the hippogriff didn't get the save, to the point where we had to ask the staff, they said it did...
that shuold be nuff said, but hobby centre staff can be unreliable...
ah well, i think it does give the save and so should everyone else...
It doesn't say the mount gets the same save as the rider. It syays "The Blessing also affects the mount of any affected model (so, Hippogryphs and Pegasus gain the benefit of the Blessing as long as their rider is affected)." It does not give the mount the same save as the rider it just gives the mount the save in general. Therefore the grail shield does not affect the mount and will not be increased by the shield. At least in my opinion.
Well now go back and read the grail shield TGK it improves the ward save GIVEN BY THE BLESSING to the new number. This wouldnt even be confusing if it was a regular ward save from every other armies list, but this is different, its the blessing. Part of the item's cost is deferred because of its restriction, but mostly because you can lose the blessing and so not only would you lose your natural wardsave, you'd lose the improved upon wardsave from the shield. Therefore I think in terms of interpretation, and balancing that it is both fair and beliveable.
You won't reach a conclusion in this. It's been debated for ages on Chateau Montreford (On numerous threads, IIRC), and they have not come up with a conclusion, either. I'd say, ask your opponent. If he accepts the 4+ save, all fine. If not, roll a dice, and see whose interpretation is used for that game. (Or, come up with a house rule). That's pretty much the only way until GW does an Errata on this.
Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD