Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I always thought that when you charged, you use the lance regardless of having an alternate magic weapon
(At least it says so in the rulebook), but a guy at my gaming club says Brettonians can choose.
Is he right?
If so, what If you have a Magic Lance as well as a magic hand weapon? Do you get to choose, or do you have to use the lance there? (Despite the fact you'd probably be better off using the magic lance there anyway).
That is a faulsity judge! It says in the magic items section of the Bretonnian army book that if the character is equiped with a lance they will use it first in combat and then their hand weapon in subsiquent phases. So you could get around this by equiping your character with just a magical sword etc... If you have a magic lance and a mundane hand weapon then you always use the lance. So in the case of the Silver Lance of the Blessed you always auto-hit.
The character have to use the lance on the first round only when he charges. If he get charged, then he can use it's magic weapon from the first round on. If the character has a magical lance and a magical hand weapon, then he must use the lance, and can't switch between the two!
Characters aren't allowed to field more than one magical weapon. So the situation where you have a magical lance and had weapon would never come up.
This was designed to be an advantage actually. It still allows you to bring a magical sword and still get to fight with virtue of knightly temper for example. You could in fact be crazy and bring Virtue of Dragon slaying , a regular lance, and the hero sword and have KB on large targets on a charge and then do extra wounds on subsequent turns.