Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a game yesterday and I needed to turn my knights, but they could not since part of the lance would have been off of the table and this question came up (the situation was eventually solved by a different manouvere, so this did not effect the outcome of the game, but i was wondering for future reference.)
If i put my knights in formation with 4 frontage can I claim ranks? I can see an arguement for both sides, but I was wondering what the offical ruling was.
Thanks in advance for your responses
Probably not, since ordinarily ranks are only granted for a 5-wide unit & the lance formation is an exception that allows ranks for a 3-wide unit. I don't think that they can get if for a four-wide exception. From pg. 40 of the Brettonia book, "Knights in Lance Formation form up into ranks only three models wide." It makes sense, given that if a wider front were allowed, Bretonnia players would always do so to get the advantage of the additional attacks.
Hope that helps,
Bad Hat Harry
Thats what we thought, but we wondered if any changes had been made in 7th edition, since last edition we would still gain ranks with the 4 frontage.