1500pt Thousand Son Land Raider Rush - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1500pt Thousand Son Land Raider Rush

Hi all

I'm brand new to Chaos, having played IG for the last few years, but am a bit stuck on a second army. I've drafted lists for fast moving Eldar, White Scars, even Tau, but have still to be really bitten by a style of play that appeals. I know I don't want another static army. I bought the Chaos codex, and possibly influenced by a couple of games against Deathwing, need some advice if the general idea below is practical. . My plan for 1500 pts is :
    Demon Prince, MoT, Wings, Warptime
    2 x squads of 8 Thousand Sons + Sorceror with GoC
    2 x Land Raiders to transport the Sons
    1 x 9 Raptors, MoT, AC with Lightning claws.

It comes to roughly 1500 pts. The idea would be rush 12", pop smoke, 2nd turn move 6", disembark, everybody unleashes rapid fire death, hopefully start creating a spawn every couple of turns to tie up enemy units. The Land Raiders then go for enemy armour. Raptors advance behind the LR's, DP goes for tanks. Clearly it needs to advance up a flank, so only a part of the enemy force is engaged at any one time.
    My doubts are I'm not sure if the model count is just too low. I can see real problems against Nid's or Ork hordes, but I'm more interested in theme and consistency for this army.
    Questions : Would Rhino's be better for transport ? I could probably squeeze in a Termi unit and a summoned GD instead.
    Is this a viable play style ? Is there a better way of doing the short range firefight idea ? Is there a better way of using 1K Sons ?