-Ld and Enemy Generals - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Naedre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    33
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    -Ld and Enemy Generals

    Am I correct in thinking that enemy units affected by -ld spells and abilities (Great Icon of Despair, Dance of Dreaming) can still use their General's unmodified ld value? Or would those troops use the generals ld value - modifiers.

    For example, lets say a unit with ld 7 is affected by both the Great Icon of Despair(-2 ld) and the Dance of Dreaming(for this example, say the Dance gave a -2 ld) but the opposing general has an ld 9 and is 11 away from his own troops, 13 away from the banner, ie he is unaffected by both. Does the unit using the General's ld have an ld of 9 or of 5 (9-2-2)

    And if the former is the case, does that make Enrapturing Gaze a much more useful ability?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    For all intents and purposes, their leadership becomes that of the general while within 12". So any modifiers are applied to his superior leadership that the unit has.

    The modifiers are not cancelled out since their leadership 'becomes' the higher value, rather than being modified by +x (like you see with to hit rolls for shooting).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Senior Member BlackSheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Listen to Rork. He knows. Check the title!

    Here's an interesting question though: if the general is withing 12" of the banner and/or targeted with the dance of dreaming, as his leadership is reduced by 3-5, would the units he gives to anyone else not within 12" of the banner be possibly losing leadership if they choose to use the general's? Not that anyone would do this if it is the case.
    No, I don't have any wool.

  5. #4
    Member Naedre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    33
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Ty both for the quick replies. That makes a huge difference in tactics.

  6. #5
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackSheep View Post
    Here's an interesting question though: if the general is withing 12" of the banner and/or targeted with the dance of dreaming, as his leadership is reduced by 3-5, would the units he gives to anyone else not within 12" of the banner be possibly losing leadership if they choose to use the general's? Not that anyone would do this if it is the case.
    No, pg 82 BRB does add the caveat that they can use the general's leadership unless their leadership is higher (it's in brackets).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  7. #6
    Senior Member BlackSheep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Which means that this can effectively stop them from using their general's leadership.
    No, I don't have any wool.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts