Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is probably a much discussed matter but I have yet to see a thread on it so I thought I'd start one.
Does the Torment blade give an extra attack because it is a hand weapon?
I think the easiest way to answer this question is to say wether you would allow an opponent to use the extra attack.
The rulebook states that a magic weapon can not be used with a mundane weapon but the daemonic gifts do not count as magic weapons so my opinion is that it does give an extra attack.
what does everyone else think?
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." – Albert Einstein
It's pretty black and white:
It specifically states it is a Hand Weapon...
It specifically states that it is not a Magic Weapon....
It specifically states that two hand weapons grant an extra attack...
So I say yes, and until they FAQ / errata otherwise this is how it should be played IMHO.
It's Adventure Time!
2010 'Ardboyz Champion
It gives +1 attack on a herald, but not on a KoS due to the rule that only infantry get the +1 attack from 2x HW (though its arguable that it gives a KoS +1 attack from it because its been FAQ'd that Bone Giants and Shaggoths get +1 attack from 2x hand weapons).
40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
Current Rep: 1337
I would play it conservatively, +1 attack for an unmounted Herald of Slaanesh and for the KoS wait for a FAQ ruling. The one thing that sticks in my mind is that out of all the daemonic weapons, this is the one the specifically list as 'Hand Weapon'. +1 attack on a HoS is nothing overpowered anyway.
The only honorable options left to we combatants is seppuku or semantics...which amount to the same thing really.