Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Beastmasters are equipped with a Beastmasters scourge and a Hand Weapon. The Scourge counts as a Wand Weapon with Armour Piercing.
Does this give you a bonus attack because of 2 hand weapons and do all the attacks gain the armour piercing rule?
yes, I do believe that was the intention of the writers.
What about Whip of Agony? It just says "Beastmaster's Scourge. A models wielding ... blah blah blah". Can we assume that it automatically refers to the mundane weapon of the same name? and the same attributes, Hand Weapon and Armor Piercing? My friend thinks that if it doesnt say Hand Weapon then I cannot assume it is.
Anima Tactics - try it out!
Yes it does - if is specifically states that it is a scourge - it follows the same rules as a scourge, in addition to the special rules - same with caradyran's Halberd in High Elf list - it was udpated to have the "Halberd" explicitly in its description, so confers +1 S.
the more important question is whether the whip gives you the HW&Shield bonus even though it is a magical weapon.
I'd have to say yes it does as well, as if a Halberd gives +1 S, a hand weapon should confer the bonus for using a shield. No BRB, but will examine this and let you know!
It is important to note that most magic weapons are not defined in this way, so do not confer the bonus
BRB specifically states in the magic weapons section that magical weapons don't confer the HW&S bonus. This item is a little different because it specifically states that it is a hand weapon and recieves some benefit from that. Truly I think it's hopeful speculation on my part and we won't get the bonus, but I was curious if anyone else would see it as an exception to the normal magic weapon rules.
The BRB actually states:
"Magic Weapons always ignore any special rules...unless otherwise specified in the description of the weapon".
Sio a Sword of Striking is firmly NOT a hand weapon...
No where does it say the beastmasters scourge is a magic weapon.
We are talking about how the Whip of Agony works:
1) It is a magic weapn
2) It confers the benefits of a magic weapon AND a beastmaster's scourge
3) A Beastmasters scourge counts as a hand weapon
So the above three are correct
Now We KNOW that magic weapons may NOT be used in conjunction with another weapon - this is RAW in teh Magic Items section of the BRB. However, the Magic Items section also has RAW that unless a weapon says it confers the benefits of being a particular type, it is a generic "magi weapon" and does not confer the abenefits as a result of being a particular type of weapon. Nowehere does it say for example, that the Sword of Might is a hand weapon, its just a magic weapon.
SO by induction, if Caradryans Halberd confers +1 S as a result of being a Halberd, and has the additional attributes in its magic weapon dexcription, then the Whip of Agony must confer the same benefits of being a hand weapon (as it is a Beastmasters scourge) and also the magical attributes in its own description, which may override those on teh Beastmasters scourge description