Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm considering taking this item on a BSB in the centre of my force. I was wondering how useful people have found it to be, as on paper it looks like rather good magical defence since any spell targetting a unit within 12 is going to be affected by it.
Honestly I've used it twice and had great success both times. The best way to use it is on a flying mount, or at least a mount of some sort. I dont think smack dab in the middle of your army would be the best place to put it. Put honestly you'd be amazed how often double number are rolled in casting spells, especially with higher level mages.
You can also put it on a champion of the cold ones unit. I have used it a couple times and it is a great magic defense item. It only takes one miscast to put a scare in someone.
Interesting thing, I asked around. If a HE archmage takes the book of hoeth and rolls a double, he still suffers from the miscast table miscast, but the spell still goes off as Irresitable force. Interesting, eh? If you go against teclis the ring looses alot of punch since he ignores the first miscast each round, The HE player may have teclis just cast till the first double then stop there.
I was wondering about that also. Doesn't a miscast over ride Irresitable force If so the spell doesn't go off but he still ignores his 1st miscast result.
Yes miscast allways overrides Irresistible force.
"If a spell is miscast and is cast with irresistible force at the same time (eg. from five dice the player rolls two 1s and two 6s) then spell counts as a miscast. Miscasts take precedence in this case."
Warhammer Rulebook, page 108
I managed to play a couple of ganes in the weekend and the ring, coupled with my two scrolls completely shut down my opponents mage lords as the majority of my units were able to stay partially within 12 of the bsb. I'd recommend using it to anyone who does not use alot of magic themselves.
Just thought of something in regards to the ring: if the caster is inside the 12" radius, but uses focus familiar to cast outside the radius would the rings effects still apply?
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
Yes becouse the sorceress cast spells not the familiar.
"One must do violence to the object of one's desire; when it surrenders, the pleasure is greater."
Marquis De Sade