KB and Poison - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: KB and Poison

  1. #1
    Fly Casual Lil Tweaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Worlds Edge
    Age
    42
    Posts
    376
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    273 (x3)

    KB and Poison

    So reading the book, I always thought that if you had KB and poison you could use them both. Any hits of 6 auto wound, but you could go ahead and roll the wound anyway to see if you scored a killing blow (and skip all that silly armor/multiple wounds business.) And rolls of 1, 2 or whatever would still wound because of the poison, really your just checking for 6s. It seems kinda silly to loose KB just Ďcuz thereís poison on your blade.

    Executioner 1: Whatís wrong Hanz?
    Executioner 2: Oh, Iím feeling kinda down Fritz. Someone put poison on my blade. I just donít have the knack for beheading people anymore.
    Executioner 1: I understand, 6oz of poison on a ten pound blade just throws the whole balance off. Itís terrible.
    Executioner 2: Yeah, it really makes me feel like less of an Elf.

    I bring it up because I've read about others playing it the other way. If you have poison, you don't get KB. What's the official story?

    -J
    Less of a Monkey


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    As I understand the official line, if you do something Automatically it is something you do not roll for, therefore any poisoned hits are not rolled to wound, and thus have no chance of getting a killing blow.
    The Camden Brigade
    Do good things, good things happen. Do bad things, and kharma hits you with a car.
    20 Bucks. Eat it; Ride it; Hump it. I don't care. - Earl J. Hickey

  4. #3
    Organised Chaos saltrock36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    England
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,233
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x4)

    Yep, which means that having both abilities on for instance tomb scorpions is a waste. it'l be wounding on 2's normaly anyway so the loss of killing blow for some auto-wounds mkes it very ineffective at times.

    Basicaly things with both abilities are not as good as something with one or the other, as you end up paying points for somthing that halfs your chances of using its special abilities.

  5. #4
    I've had enough! timk1111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Oz
    Posts
    2,041
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    205 (x7)

    Everyone is correct so far - poisoned hits cannot score a killing blow, as no roll to wound is actually made. The Tomb Scopion for TK's has this FAQ'd.

    If you don't want poisoned wounds, you're going to have to buy Dark Venom or Black Lotus. Both are kinda handy, and Dark Venom is dirty if you smash your opponent in a challenge. Suddenly, accepting with the Unit Champ may not be a good idea, as the Assassin can easily get the max overkill (depends what it is of course ). Then again, a KB on a multi wound model will also stack up combat res.

    Tim


  6. #5
    stupidity just kicked in! zhaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    33
    Posts
    812
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x2)

    yes... so think about it when you buy touch of death on your assassin next time. I've also had this covered on my "DE tips and tricks [BETA]" thread among other great tips and ideas. So check it out!
    ___________________

    Podhammer - The Warhammer Podcast

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts