Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a character take both the Pendant of Khaeleth and one or more Null Talismans? They are both classified as talismans, but the Null Talisman says it can be treated like scrolls which leads me to believe there may be an option to take both. Thanks for the time.
Having read both entries I could really go either way. Though I would probably play it on the side of better balance and that the Null Talisman still counts as your one Talisman, since in the scroll rules it specifies Arcane items, not "another item of the type of the scroll"
Alrighty. Any second opinons? Perhaps there is some rule clearly stated in the main RB?
I would say no you can't take the pendant and the null talisman because the line referring to scrolls is said about the effect being cumulative it doesn't mention that you can take the null talisman and other talisman magic items. My logic is that if it doesn't clearly state otherwise go with the main rules. So if you ever doubt about something then it's probably not meant to be played that way.
I would have to say no. Taking it like scrolls i beleve is ment to let you build up your magic rez by taking multiple ofthe same item on that one model. If it was something that played like a true Dispell Scroll then yes you could take it and another talisman. But it dosnt work for balance to me. Working like a scroll means that anyone who can take a talisman can take them, meaning all your charcters and some of the unit champs can take one and with a little effort in spreading them out you could give almost your entire army Magic Rez (1).
There is no ruling officiially, I'd ask the gaming group you're in or your opponent. There is so little to go on here with the RAW, that you could easily interpret this both ways depending on how you think they mean "used as scrolls". To me, the way the wording is placed, I think it could be taken by multiple models, but I go back and forth with myself as to whether multiple talismans can be taken by 1 model or not. I kind of read it as a cross between scrolls, gnoblar thiefstones, and night goblin magic mushrooms.
Sorry - that response probably doesn't help, but I truly believe that this is one of those points left up in the air until there is a FAQ. You can really, believably translate the rules either way. I'd say this is just a point of confusion in the book. Overall, the book is great at not creating too much confusion, but this is one of few mistakes GW made. I do love the book however.
Last edited by buckero0; September 8th, 2008 at 15:08.