Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My buddies and I just played the first game with Dark Elves and we all witnessed how cool Hydra really is. We came across a question that no one had a definite answer on. When Hydra attacks, it has 7 attacks (we assumed that means 5 heads and 2 front claws). From what we read about hydra's breath attack, each wound represents one head (hence strength of the breath is # of heads). So does that mean that number of attacks of the hydra is 2+ wounds remaining? In other words, if hydra takes 2 wounds, does that mean it has 2 less attacks?
This would make a lot more sense since 7 attacks on a T5, W5 terror causing monster with scaly skin AND regenerate is little bit too powerful for only 175 points.
Fluffily it would make a lot of sense but as far as I am aware the answer is no.
A wounded Hydra fights as well as an untouched Hydra.
This would be a cool rule in general, -1 BS and WS for each wound you take, having a crossbow bolt stuck in you is distracting.
Another fluff question:
Why can a Cold One Noble join a unit of footsloggers without attempting to tear the unit apart?
why would he tear the unit apart? The animal is stupid, it doesn't have animosity.
Cold Ones tear up warm bloods at the smell of them, the only reason they let knights ride them is because they bathe in their slime to keep them from smelling like a warm blood.
As for that and the Hydra issue, just call it game mechanics over realism.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
While it might make logical sense this is a game and unless it says somewhere in the rules that something works a specific way. It doesnt
Joe Peshi (lone wolf) kill tally:Lash Sorcerer, Ghazkull, Yriel, Termi Libby, Vulkan.
treat it the same way you would say one of your lords for instance. lords usually have 3 or more wounds. when they lose a wound do they lose an attack? no. the only things the breath weapon rules apply for is the breath weapon.
Or you could always say ya know, since the hydra is such a terrifying beast even if you cut off one of the heads the others can still fight just as well if not better since its enraged you just removed one of them
Bah. If you want to be so precise, why Hydra does not breed two new heads (meaning two new wounds and two more attacks) per every passed Regeneration test?