Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I read in the DE FAQ that the beastmasters scourge gives the war hydra handlers an extra attack and makes all the attacks armour piercing.
If I give the beastmasters scourge to my master does he also get an extra attack and all attacks armour piercing?
I'm unsure about this.
The reason the hyrda's handlers get extra attacks is because they have two attacks on their profile and have two hand weapons. So, 2 attacks plus an extra hand weapon is 3 attacks.
All of the handler's attacks are listed as AP just for the sake of simplicity, so that you don't have to roll seperately for the weapons.
I don't have my book with me to see what the master has for weapons options, but if he had his standard free hand weapon that he comes with, and you were able to purchase a beastmaster scourge in addition to that, then he will also have two hand weapons. This will give him +1 attack and make his attacks AP. This would all change if you were talking about the beastmaster scourge magic item.
Really you'd use this combination on oyur master? I was looking at it too the other day I jsut couldn't justify the lose of having a great weapon or magic weapon for ap. Like I think it's obviously better then an extra hand weapon as you get an extra attacks and ap but would you feel comfortable with str 4?
Isn't That Just Peachey
Master @ 111pt
Armour of Darkness, Beastmasters scourge
W6 S4 A4 with a 1+ Asv
With the armour of darkness I have a nice save so I went for max attacks so wanted an additional handweapon but for 2 more points all my attacks become AP. I think with S4 AP (-2Asv) I can succed in taking down also some better armoured troops. 1+ becomes 3+ = (1/3 chance of succes)
Sure some better Masters can be created but I wanted to keep him cheap.
take the magical whip of agony and you get str5 armor piercing with extra attacks.
Can anyone explain why you can't get the handweapon and shield bonus with this? I know it's a magical weapon but it specifically states that it is a beastmaster's scourge which is an extra hand weapon in the rules, so why no exception?
see, I would think you'd get the HW&S bonus or the extra hand weapon bonus for both the regular BMscourge or the whip of agony just by the rules. You're paying an extra 10 points for the magical version (over the sword of might) so I would think they would apply as long as you weren't mounted etc. To me this would give you a very versatile weapon (something the DE book is good at over other books)
I didn't see anything in the FAQ, but I have had people whine about it before and didn't feel like arguing so I've left it out of my lists for now. It would go perfect on a bsb with Armor of Eternal Servitude with SDC and shield because you could choose to get the extra attacks or go for the 2+ armor save if needed with your regeneration. You'd still have room for a null talisman.
Last edited by buckero0; March 11th, 2009 at 19:04.
You don't get the HW shield bonus for the magic whip. The reason why you are paying 10 points over the sword of might is because it is armor piercing on top of the strength 5 (for a total of -3 Armor). That's pretty nice, then add in the fact that you always have s5 no matter what people throw at you like nurgle spells, netters, etc.
Another question about the beastmasters scourge:
The Whip of Agony is an extra handweapon wich hits at S5. Does this mean all attacks are S5 or 1 of the attacks is S4?
Whip of Agony on a Black Guard champion should equal 4 str 5 AP attacks in my book
Whip of Agony on a BSB on foot with shield should have the choice to use it to get the extra attack or to use in conjunction with shield for HW&S bonus per the rules of Beastmasters Scourge in my opinion (as long as you're fighting to the front, etc)
Both of these troop/character choices come armed with a hand weapon in the rules. Adding a magical beastmaster's scourge gives them 2 hand weapons per the DE rules. They don't drop the hand weapon (certain spells, items can remove magical weapons/items from a character like Vaul's Unmaking so they always keep their hand weapon for those cases)
Give me a reason why any of this would/should be different. Don't just tell me NO.