Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just curious if there is a limit on how many assassins are in a unit? Was thinking of putting a unit of 3 assassins with Str 7 Ninja stars of doom with some shades to take out a Bloodthirster just haven't found anything that says you are limited to 1 assassin in a unit.
Nice idea but I'm afraid first line of the assassin entry states "Each dark elf infantry unit (except harpies) may include a SINGLE assassin"
In theory no limit to assassins in army (so long as you have the units and points) but only 1 per unit.
I would agree except that the next line says 'See the Hidden rule for details' leading me to believe that each unit may only take one Hidden assassin. So if you wanted to throw 1 in a unit of Ex's and another in some WE or BG that march straight down the field relatively close, you could reveal them and then have them leave their units and join the Shades that seems like a valid move to me, hence the following lines saying that Assassins are characters, and characters can move freely about units with no limit to the amount of them per unit.
I'm not sure about if deploying them not Hidden in the same unit would be acceptable but I'm assuming that the fact that they are out in the open would at the beginning of the game for the opponent to take into account. I know if I was the opponent and I had any kind of shooting I would be glad to see 3 assassins in a unit of small naked shades on turn 1.
That's my reading of the rule anyway, again it's kinda one of those rules that if you just take each word for itself it might just be 1 per unit no matter what, but if you look at the paragraph as a whole to try to understand the purpose of the rule, it leans a other way
Yea that whole hidden thing is what was getting me. If I went "I am deploying these 7 shades with 3 assassins" they are not hidden so it boils down to what they meant the ruling to say. Whatever happened to the KISS rules.
Hmm, your right. It is confusing! I never really thought of that, the single comment specifies "see hidden rules" but the assassin also has the scout rule. The thing is, I look at the assassin entry and the description behind hidden appears to give you no choice, looks like you have to set up hidden. The scout rule is probably only there to justify hiding with shades but I'm not sure. However once the game has started there doesnt seem to be anything stopping them from all joining one unit.
Not 100% sure on this ofc, but it seems that way.
Yep, they always start out hidden, so there's really not much more to it than 1 per unit.
Ofcourse you could have them all join the same unit after the reveal if you wish..
I believe both sections of the rules says one asassin per unit hidden or not, though not clarified very well.
The rules in the asassins profile says each infantry unit may include a single asassin.
The rules in the hidden rules page says you may declare the units has "an" asassin in the unit....etc. Word for word it is a singular context there and I believe Gw would of clarified multiple asassins if allowed at this point of the hidden rules.
Yes it does say "Each infantry unit (except harpies) may include a single assassin." but the line after it states "See hidden rules for details". I would be more inclined to say they MUST set up hidden, only one per unit whilst hidden but free to do as they wish after reveal.
Its not very clear regardless, may need some rewording ^^
Doesn't help that they are listed as Seperate unit in the book either, should have just made them unit upgrades if that was their original intent.
It wasn't their intent though, they can leave their units for sure. Even describes them as characters, which can leave and join (with some restrictions) at will. Also worth mentioning is the Cloak of Twilight magic item that only assassins can take - If they were designed to stay in their unit, there would be no use for that item. It is badly worded but I stick with my above statement. The section that specifies that only a single assassin can be in the unit is in the hidden rules only or told to refer to them. Once an assassin is revealed, the hidden rules don't apply anymore.
Last edited by Rythla; May 16th, 2009 at 01:41. Reason: Spelling mistake >.<