Question Regarding Khainites? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Question Regarding Khainites?

    Well, basically i would like to give executioners a Master BSB but since theyre khainite, non khainite models may not be in the same unit. Does this include masters, since they have no special khainite rule?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Zeuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Yes, it includes masters.

  4. #3
    Sparta! Exarch Thomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    198 (x4)

    Unfortunately the only way to get a BSB in a unit of executioners is a Hag BSB. It really bites and I can only hope that in the next revision they include some kind of provision for a master to join executioners.
    Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    ahh rats! ok thanks!

  6. #5
    No worries. Vespasian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    A good combination that works very well is a Death Hag BSB with the Standard of Hag Graef, Rune of Khaine and Manbane.

    She can go in any unit she likes, and yes I know she has no save at all, and I am aware that if anything can hit her it will probably kill her, but consider the fact that there will be a gazillion (minimum of 6!) attacks going out with the ASF from the banner, and the support from the unit she's in (stand her next to the unit champion to get even more attacks against the model in B2B with her). It's unlikely that anything will survive to hit her, and with the executioners striking first you're onto a winner.

    Put an assassin in there for even more stabby-killy-death. And if you need her in a different unit, she's free to move about. Just be careful with the frenzy.

    That bites very much if you're the enemy.

    V.
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Age
    36
    Posts
    326
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x1)

    The one big problem with putting a hag into a unit of executioners is that smart opponents will bait the hag out. She has frenzy, the unit doesn't. So either the opponent gets to bait the unit around the table, or the hag gets pulled out and dies horribly.

    As for asking for a revision to put the master in the unit, don't hold your breath. The current issue with khainites was fully intended. If they wanted to let you do it, they wouldn't have gone out of their way to make an entire rule based off what characters can join which units.

    You want executioners to not suck so much? Either run the expensive and risky option of the hag BSB, or run them in small flanking units that support multiple charges.

    I personally don't have the special slots for them, and run CoKs instead for S6.

  8. #7
    Painting Machine! Tekore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tale of Painterville
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,668
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    542 (x8)

    Of course, running Executioners is not a bad special choice when Comp is an issue in a tournament, as most people recognize them as a fairly poor Dark Elf Unit.

    Tekore

  9. #8
    No worries. Vespasian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tekore View Post
    most people recognize them as a fairly poor Dark Elf Unit.
    I wouldn't say thet they're poor, exactly. They just look poor compared to the alternatives.

    As for the whole "baiting" thing, the trick is to make your opponent think that you don't want the executioners to charge when, in fact, you do. Or, shield the hag (but not the unit) with harpies to make sure that the hag only gets LOS to a target on the turn she wants to charge.

    There are a multitude of ways of getting round the frenzy, not least of which is the fact that if the Hag can charge, so can the unit...

    V.
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  10. #9
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Vespasian View Post
    There are a multitude of ways of getting round the frenzy, not least of which is the fact that if the Hag can charge, so can the unit...
    Not always. Single models aren't impeded by terrain, while units are. It's a rare case, but if an enemy unit is in terrain the hag could be in charge range but the unit wouldn't be (since the terrain would reduce their move).

    And more generally if you think a charge is out of range when it isn't...you get the idea.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts