Lifetaker - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lifetaker

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    55
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Lifetaker

    Defined in Magic Weapons as "a repeater crossbow".
    Str 4, Multiple shotsx3.

    Entry does not specify Armour Piercing.

    For crossbowmen infantry repeater crossbow IS stated as AP.

    Am I safe to assume that Lifetaker is AP as well?

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Intrepid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Central California
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,800
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    780 (x8)

    Unless I've missed a FAQ somewhere the answer is no. Lifetaker's profile is spelled out in its description; the rest of the entry is purely for fluff. It's easier (albeit a tad careless) for the author to say 'a repeater crossbow' than 'a rapid-firing crossbow that is not a standard repeater crossbow'.
    "My tanks have names, my men have numbers." -Col. Edmund Grahvess, 23rd Kronecker Prison Guard

  4. #3
    Herman1004 Rising Leviathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,266
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    125 (x4)

    I have to disagree here,

    If the Crossbowmen's weapons are Armour Piercing and the description of Lifetaker says it is the same weapon.

    My oppinion anyway,

    Regards,
    5000p. High Elves
    1000p. Eldar

  5. #4
    Junior Member 8people's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    A large box
    Age
    28
    Posts
    859
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x2)

    Magical Weapons are treated as their base weapons except for where stated. If there is no specification it does not do armour piercing it does AP as a Repeater Crossbow.

  6. #5
    Tak
    Tak is offline
    Big Damn Hero Tak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    292
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    114 (x2)

    As from the Dark Elf FAQ;

    Q. Does Lifetaker get the Armour Piercing special rule as per other Dark Elf repeater crossbows?
    A. No, it doesn’t. Its profile is quite clear.

    Simples!

    *squeak*

  7. #6
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    Now if only GW would FAQ every other weird loophole or unclear statement like that...
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    I don't see it as an unclear statement or weird loophole; as the FAQ states, the weapon's properties are outlined quite clearly in the army book. In this case, giving the weapon the AP ability would not be a job for the FAQ, it would be the job of the errata as it would have to have been a printing error.

  9. #8
    Herman1004 Rising Leviathan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,266
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    125 (x4)

    Ah, I guess that settles the matter.

    Though it seems a bit weird to me:

    A mundane weapon has the AP rule, but a Magic Weapon that is treated as the same mundane weapon, as stated in the Army Book, does not get the AP rule. To me, that's the same as saying a Magic Weapon treated as a Great Weapon doesn't get +2S or a Magic Weapon treated as a Spear doesn't get to fight in two ranks.

    My two cents,

    Regards,
    5000p. High Elves
    1000p. Eldar

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Heiromyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    124 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rising Leviathan View Post
    Ah, I guess that settles the matter.

    Though it seems a bit weird to me:

    A mundane weapon has the AP rule, but a Magic Weapon that is treated as the same mundane weapon, as stated in the Army Book, does not get the AP rule. To me, that's the same as saying a Magic Weapon treated as a Great Weapon doesn't get +2S or a Magic Weapon treated as a Spear doesn't get to fight in two ranks.

    My two cents,

    Regards,
    The italics are fluff, there's never been ruling put into these small sections in any army book as far as I know.

    That aside if a magic weapon is to be treated as a mundane weapon of the same type it would be clealy specified. For example, Deathpeircer, lance; Soul render, great weapon etc. The lifetaker doesn't have this stated in such a way (so it doesn't have a mundane weapon to work from). Although the topics been cleared I thought I'd add this for other magic items which may prop up.
    Last edited by Heiromyo; December 3rd, 2009 at 00:10.
    "Adapt to heaven and enjoy ease; oppose it and toil in vain. None can deduct from the reakoning, or force what is fated." - Three Kindoms, lesson of life.

    My Showcase
    Witch Hunters Tactica [=Updating=]
    New Eldar Tactica

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts