Hydra Painting - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hydra Painting

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hydra Painting

So, its coming to pass that my next painted model is going to be my hydra, which leaves me completely intimidated. Anyone have any tips/tricks/etc for making it look halfway decent? Ideas on color scheme would also be duely appreciated, I'd hate to use the dark/lighter green scheme I'm using for my cold ones, so any other ideas would be cool. I'm a table-grade painter, but I know that my hydra's going to be the centerpiece of my army, just given its size/mass (at least until I do the dragon), so any help I can get would be awesome.

WFB: Dark Elves; Tomb Kings; and Orcs (oh my!)
    40k: Tyranids (2nd ed)

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x2)

Make sure you're comfortable with what colours your using in midtones, highlights and shading.

On larger models it's generally harder to get away with add white/black to change the shade or a quick black/brown wash to add depth.

Brown wash is good for delineating the lines of its hide, should be applied gently.

Generally reptiles have lighter underbellies, usually a creamy colour and usually unpatterned - the top hide, however, can be quite vivid and marked - generally avoid putting markings around the areas where the top hide meets the belly as the transition isn't sudden and needs to be blended, preferably softly, as the types of skin/scale transition.