Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Reading the rules for the sacrificial dagger it appears that a sorceress can kill a friendly for the extra dice, no problem. However i cant currently see anything stopping her killing a friendly then using the dice for another sorceresses casting attempt not her own.
I don’t know if this is wishful thinking and I have over looked something but an answer would be great. Thanks!
Unless there's something else I've missed, the dagger is used after your sorceress (with the dagger) has already attempted to cast a spell and the initial roll failed. You may then use the dagger to gain more power dice which are immediately used to add on to the original roll to try to successfully cast. So unfortunately, no, the added PD can't be used in the common pool as they must be rolled immediately.
However what if asorceress trys to cast a spell and the other with the dagger kills a warrior and rolls the dice onto the first sorceress spell. It reads like this example is possible.
OK i have gone and re-read the rules for the dagger it has no erreta yet
I see where your confusion is coming from as its wording isn't the best.
But that being said it is used to kill a model after the sorceress has made her attempt to cast. Note the words ' The Sorceress' I would take this to mean the weilder of the dagger me reasoning will become clear.
After the sorceress has made her attempt to cast a spell she may use the dagger to kill a model in her unit to add a power dice to the cast this dice may contribute to IF.
the above is a shortend version of the actual text as i would rather not breach forum or GW's policy here but i have used the ket phrase's for the item.
as power dice generated in such a fasion Darkstar cloak, Power of darkness etc etc.. outside the roll for power/dispell poll arenormally restricted to the wizard that generates them i would have to concur that o to do the dice generated by the dagger. As such only the wieldr of the dagger can benifit from the dice it generates and therefore it can only affect her spells.
Also note: -
The Dagger is used after the roll to cast but before the dspell attempt
The Dagger can cuase a unit to sufefr panic due to the Heavy Casualties special rule
be very careful not to cuase 25% lose to the models of the unit based ont he models at the start of that turn other wise you could end up with your sorceress and ehr unit fleeing the battle and reducing your chances of success.
Last edited by draghkar; October 25th, 2010 at 09:31.