Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys quick question on the sacrificial dagger and 8th ed.
Is it ok to roll one dice on a spell (say PoD) and then add another dice from sacrificial dagger to make the spell go off? I thought it was (i had read it on the druchii.net forums) but in the one game i've tried my DE in 8th ed i've had an opponent tell me i can't do it.
As far as I know that's legal. You're allowed to cast on one dice, there's no rule that says you have to use at least two, see the result (because the dagger allows you to add extra power dice AFTER seeing the initial casting roll), then cap a guy with the sac dag to ensure it goes off. Just remember a roll of less than 3 is an auto fail, so if you roll a one and two (even if you're a level 4 wizard) the spell won't go off and you lose concentration.
Also, you're only allowed to add a max of one extra power dice from the dagger per spell. You can't roll one dice from your power pool then execute six guys to get six extra power dice.
Hope it helps!
Yeah, thats perfectly legal, I remember annoying one opponent by trying to cast Final Transmutation on one dice (from Power of Darkness), rolling a six, then using the Sacrificial Dagger do give me another dice, rolling a 6.
Also, you can use Power of Darkness dice to attempt to cast a spell, even if there is no chance of succesfully casting it, to avoid the S4 hits. It's in the FAQ.
Fantasy - Dark Elves, Warriors of Chaos \/ 40K - Word BearersChaos Space Marines
Vargarna i Vinterkylan Chaos Warriors Army Project
I don't understand how your opponent thought anyone would use a dagger if the rules where as he said. Why would you want to role another dice if you already got the cast value except maybe to help increase the number to make it harder to dispell, not worth killing a model for that in most cases. So yes that extra dice is added after you know what you rolled with your magic PD. Its a useful item b/c if you play against a guy like me who tries to determine how many dice the caster has left vs how many DD i do and i see after he castes that he only has one PD left i might risk throwing all my DD knowing that casting anything good with one dice is hard only to see him slit the throat of one of his own models to get an extra dice might leave me guessing on how i am suppose to manage my DD when my opponent can get extra dice multiple ways.
"Ah, but the truth is like an expensive whore, Jerek. She comes in many dresses and will bend over for any with the money to pamper her." ~ Konrad von Carstein