Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm extremely new to Dark elfs and Fantasy in general. But I have basically two questions. I've bought the codex and a couple of figs. ONe of the older gus who plays fantasy was giving me some advice. And he was talking about how he thought that the warriors couild take Repeater Crossbows in the front rank and spears in the back. Is this true? Because that would be AWESOME!!! But he said he didn't know if that was true or not. He was also talking about how he thought Dark Riders could get a free more before the game starts. I know nothing in the codex says anything about either of the two subjects but I was wondering if any of the chronicles or white dwarfs had anything to do with it.
Also I was wondering what the Watch Tower armies and the City Garrison Army lists looked like. I know were to find them, but I live quit a ways from my game store and I want to know kinda what they look like so I don't have to wait a whole damn week!
Welcome to the land of chill (Y)
hm... he was talking about the last edition... DE could have the city garrison formation then and have rxbs in the front and spears in the later ranks. I don't know where he got that DR could move an extra movement before the game starts though... sound like 40k scout rule.
But anyway the city garirson formation is however avalable in the city garrison armylist.
You'll find it here along with Watchtoer Patrol list and Cult of Slaanesh armylist.
So the Garrison army can take the Garrison Army Formation, RXB in front and spears in back? And I can find that in white dwarf 287 right?
Then what is the Watch Tower Army good for?
Here is a similar problem I was posed with last night.
I played my 1500pt DE army against another DE army. My opponent then proceeded to play with his spearmen in the following way:
1. He used the front rank of the spearmen in CCombat with the hand weapon and shield option
2. Then the second rank used their spears.
He contended that the rules say spearmen fight in 2 ranks. Thus he argued that the models in the second rank could still use their spears and the models in the front rank could drop their spears and use the hand weapon + shield special rule. This would mean that the models in the front rank benefited from a save of 4+!!!!!
Is this a loophole in the rules, or is my opponent as crazy as I think he is?
Any help would be great.
The garrison list does indeed exist, and yes it does allow the use of RXBs in the from ranks with Spears behind it. The list can be found in Chronicles/Annual 2003, page 32.
As for someone using spears from back ranks and HW& S combo for the front, that's illegal. You must choose which weapon your unit will be using at the begining of combat, and the entire unit must use the same. AFAIK there's no unit or rule that allows such action.
Source - BRB Page 88 'Weapons'
But isn't the City Guard uniqe because you can fight like that?... The fron rank must replace their spears with rxbs and the rest get to keep their spears. What's the point of City Guard if they can't use the spears? The City Guard is uniqe because they can fight with Handweapon + shield combo in the front rank and spears in the rest. That's what makes them so good.Originally Posted by King Ulrik Flamebeard
I linked to the page with all alternative DE armylists... read them and figure out yourself... I promise you... you'll get the picture when you see the list.Originally Posted by Solarwolf
Zhaf - Nope, the Garrison list says casulties are taken from the Spearmen until there's none left. So it's assumed the spears fight (x-bows step to back ranks), and thus would be using spears not WH & S.
But it clearly says that:Originally Posted by King Ulrik FlamebeardSo the rxb-men are in the first rank all the time... and they can't use spears (cause they've 'discarded' them), while they HAVE handweapon and shield. So I assume that what I've said was right. Infact that my gaming group (the local warhammer 'gang') agrees with me on that.Originally Posted by City Garrison armylist
I have yet another question. Does the Reaper Bolt thrower get -1 for shooting mutliple shots? I went to some FAQ and it said no, because it's a warmachine. And on page 90 of the rule book and page 9 of the DE codex confirms this. I however don't have the rule book so I can't look it up. I just went along with my opponet and said they take the -1. It I wouldn't have taken the -1 I probably would have won, Or made it a sure tie. Not a minor victory.