New to DE, wondering about prices - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New to DE, wondering about prices

Heya, I'm new to DE and warhammer in general, and I was just wondering if it would be reasonable to aim to build an offensive infantry-based 2k pts force with $230 USD. (excluding paints and all of that, just the models)
    Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x6)

Hi, Welcome to Dark Elves & Librarium online.

Dark Elves are probably one of the most expensive armies in Warhammer. Warriors are the only plastic models we have. Everything else is metal, which unfortunately means more expensive. Especially with big sqauds of infantry.

The only way to reach 2k with an infantry style & that budget would be to get mostly Spearmen. If you were planning to take Corsairs, Witch Elves, Executioners, or any of the metal infantry, no you probably wont afford that. The only way would be to spend a lot of points on characters to fill out the 2000 points with less models. But its going to leave you with a less effective army.

The good news is that infantry arent the best way to play to Dark Elves. You need to take a few big blocks of spearmen or Corsairs. It gives you something expendable in an otherwise elite & fragile army, it also gives you something to hold enemy units in place while you flank them with your elite units.