Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, i don't play dark elves but i have recently played against one (2000 pts). I think this guy was playing a khaine army.. or whatever seeing how he used an assassin... no magic... and had some big scary shrine that causes terror....but anyway i have a couple questions about his assassin.
First off: it killed my green knight twice in a row... he said he had a magic weapon...well I looked at a DE book later on and relized that he had given his assassin killing blow. thats how he killed my general earlier on before he met up with the green knight)..but i'm pretty sure it's not a magic weapon... more of some kind of artifact...so i don't think he could have even wounded my 'etheral' green knight.
Second: my general wounded him once, and my green knight wounded him once.... in the DE book it says he has only 2 wounds.... ...?
Third and lastly: The assassin can only have up to 50 pts of magic armor and upgrades.... is it posible he upgraded his assasin +1W, killing blow, and a magic weapon on top of it?.... i think he also had like some kind of 4+ ward save too...but i'm not sure...
It's no big deal... the game is overwith and i had a good time... but statistic wise i'd like to know if i was cheated.... i'm still in the 'experimental' phase with my bretonian list, and that assassin costed me the game. Thanks for any info you guys can give me.:yes:
I don't play dark elves (yet!), but I would say that there is no way he could give a regular assassin all that. I'm not even sure you can give him an extra wound at all. Could it be that he was playing with Shadowblade, a special character?
1) Correct. The Killing blow ability is accually a 'skill' rather than a magic weapon, so will not hurt the ethereal knight. However, an easy mistake to make.
2) 2 wounds. Simple. He's only a Hero level character.
3) 50 points of magic items and/or skills or poisons TOTAL. So, yeah, WAAAYYY over his limit. Most assains will squeeze in 2 abilties at the most, one usually is Manbane (wounds most things on 3's) and the 2nd personal choice.
Lastly, you did face a Khaine themed army. Armies that dont like magic, and field units such as Witch elves, assassins and the Cauldron of Blood
Yes, two wounds only.Second: my general wounded him once, and my green knight wounded him once.... in the DE book it says he has only 2 wounds.... ...?There is no way an assassin could have all that. If the assassin had killing blow he has 20 points left to spend on other items. The +1W is not even possible, because the only item that gives you that costs over 50 points.Third and lastly: The assassin can only have up to 50 pts of magic armor and upgrades.... is it posible he upgraded his assasin +1W, killing blow, and a magic weapon on top of it?.... i think he also had like some kind of 4+ ward save too...but i'm not sure...
I really think it would be a good idea to explain the quipment of your heroes, at least when the combat starts.
I just checked the rules for Shadowblade, he doesn't have a magic weapon either, so you've definately been cheated, intentionally or not.
oh ok. Thanks for all the responses!! Yeah i was wondering about that assassin. It honestly destroyed about half my army in points if not more (6 grail knights lost combat and ran, it killed my general, and the green knight twice) ... though it did legally kill my general with killing blow + overkill which then made my grail knights run ( i rolled really REALLY bad on my atttacks and leadership) just the killing blow came into effect, so that was ok... i'm sure you DE guys love hearing that. Thanks again!
For the record, Shadowblade COULD do all that by himself!!It honestly destroyed about half my army in points if not more (6 grail knights lost combat and ran, it killed my general, and the green knight twice)
A normal assassin though, unlikely.
The big question though is did you win the game in the end or not??
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who cares, your a mile away and you have his shoes!!
Chuck Norris invented water
You only have to tell your opponent what you have when you use it. There are magic items in the game which force your opponent to reveal these things ahead of time but otherwise she doesn't have to.I really think it would be a good idea to explain the quipment of your heroes, at least when the combat starts.
By that regard if you have any questions about anything your opponent has it is not rude to ask to see their book.
They could be making an honest mistake. Just the other day I was playing against Skaven and my opponent thought his poison rat swarms had magical attacks. It turns out that is the only poison in his army which is not magical.
cap, i didn't win the game.. but since my opponent was using an illegal assassin.. it's hard to say who would have won... my green knight would have destroyed his assassin along with it's unit... which would have left him with one unit of witches (about to be charged by my 12 strong unit of knights of the realm) and another core unit on foot (i can't remember what) and the cauldrin of blood.. i have 1 unit of KOTR and a 24 strong unit of bowmen with a damsel, and a fleeing unit of 5 errant knights with the BSB.... i'm gonna rematch him saturday if he shows up.... again it was all still a fun game... it's just unforntunate that i was cheated.:cry:
on another note he had a lord on a evil pegasus that ran away first turn from panic from a fleeing unit of mounted...DE. I'm guessing shadowblade is a lord... so the assassin couldn't have been shadowblade..lol unless he was just blatenly trying to rip me off ( i doubt it)